Contribute
Register

Gigabyte B550 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + AMD Ryzen 7 3700X + AMD RX 5600 XT

Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
68
Motherboard
Designare
CPU
9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Did you turn off Resizeable Bar? Also try booting from the 2nd HDMI port on the card.
Yes, Resizeable Bar is off. Unfortunately I don't have an HDMI monitor, I have 3 LG UltraFine Thunderbolt so I need to use DP -> TB converter card and the USB-C port on the 6800. Thanks for the tips!
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
790
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...there is no vt-d like there is on intel 390 designer baord on this amd board i guess?

Yes there is, but AMD call it SVM in the BIOS rather than VT-D.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
97
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170MX Gaming 5
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Does anyone here, have any idea why Bluetooth sometimes stops working when Big Sur goes to sleep? I can get back in with a USB keyboard or mouse, but I have to reboot to get Bluetooth working. I am using the M.2 module recommended for this build.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
97
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170MX Gaming 5
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It also happens with basic inactivity, suddenly the BT will stop working, with all devices "Not connected". I have tried resetting the BT module.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yes there is, but AMD call it SVM in the BIOS rather than VT-D.
ok - do you think that enabling this and disabling the oc option might get tb working like on the 390 board??

Anyways, I made some progress, if i boot windows then hit shut down and start up into big sur i get my thunderbolt working.. What is now a new problem is that after 30 sec the system just complete locks up and freezes. I know that means there is a audio problem but this didn't happened when i got had tb working original cause it didn't crash. So i tried other bios again and the same issue occurs. I also tried to wipe all the rme drivers off big sur and reinstall. Problem still exist. I also toggled the tb hot plug in oc.

I tired to install Monterey and the install locks as soon as it boots up with oc .071

feel like the lone wolf here, wish someone else had this board. I could try Catalina as well.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
790
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tired to install Monterey and the install locks as soon as it boots up with oc .071

Have you updated the Kernel | Patches section to include the new ones needed for Monterey?

They are presently only working on the Developer Beta 1. The Public Beta is based on the Developer Beta 2 so the new patches don't fully work yet. New ones are being worked on and should be released any day now. The patch developers have it working but are fine tuning before they are released to the rest of us.

Once the new patches are released and I have it working I'll upload the config etc into Hackindrom.

Screenshot 2021-07-09 at 18.27.30.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,785
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...

I tired to install Monterey and the install locks as soon as it boots up with oc .071
Just for the sake of others who might also be thinking of installing Monterey:
Screen Shot 2021-07-09 at 1.43.45 PM.png


As @Ploddles mentioned above, we need to wait for Public Beta 1 patches from the good folks at AMD-OSX.

feel like the lone wolf here, wish someone else had this board. I could try Catalina as well.
I do sympathize...
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,785
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Ploddles,

If you have a USB webcam such as Logitech c920, does it work in Monterey?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
790
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Ploddles,

If you have a USB webcam such as Logitech c920, does it work in Monterey?

Sorry, I don't have a webcam. I'll see if I can borrow one from someone.

When the new patches come out, and I have everything working I'll finally upload my config to HackinDROM.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,785
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry, I don't have a webcam. I'll see if I can borrow one from someone.

When the new patches come out, and I have everything working I'll finally upload my config to HackinDROM.
My C920s connected to either USB 2 or 3 port fails to turn on in Monterey public beta 1 (on Z490 Vision D with > 15 USB ports defined). Will try the Z390 Designare. Will also disable XhciPortLimit kernel quirk (on the Z490) and observe the 15-port limit.

Update:
  • In Monterey Public Beta 1, Logitech C920s is recognized, but no video appears in either FaceTime or Zoom. Happens on:
    • Z490 Vision D with more than 15 USB ports (XhciPortLimit enabled)
    • Z490 Vision D with exactly 15 USB ports (XhciPortLimit disabled)
    • Z390 Designare with exactly 15 USB ports (XhciPortLimit disabled)
  • No problem in Big Sur on the same systems with same EFI.
 
Last edited:
Top