GA-Z77X-UD5H Semi-Successful Build - Need Help

Discussion in 'Lion Desktop Support' started by sweeznit, Jul 2, 2012.

  1. sweeznit

    sweeznit

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    Mac Pro Hackintosh
    CPU:
    i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 2, 2012 at 9:45 AM #1
    sweeznit

    sweeznit

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    Mac Pro Hackintosh
    CPU:
    i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    [SUCCESS] GA-Z77X-UD5H / i5 3570k / Mavericks [SUCCESS]

    Sweeznit Pro - GA-Z77X-UD5H - i5 3570K - Corsair 500R - Mavericks

    [​IMG]
    Components
    - Corsair 500R Computer Case - Amazon
    - Corsair TX750M PSU - Amazon
    - Intel Core i5 3570K CPU - Amazon
    - Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H Motherboard- running f8 bios - Amazon
    - 16Gb (x4 4Gb) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600Mhz RAM - Amazon
    - Kingston HyperX SSD - running Windows 7 - Amazon
    - Kingston HyperX SSD - running Lion 10.9.3 - Amazon
    - WD Green 2Tb HDD - running my home folder only - Amazon
    - Sony Optiarc AD-7280S-0B Combo Drive - Amazon
    - Custom Apple Bluetooth Module - PDF
    - Apple Wireless Keyboard - Amazon
    - Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse - Amazon


    Comments

    In May 2012, my Early 2008 Macbook Pro decided to fail on me. Long story short, I did the poor mans trick by reflowing my motherboard in the oven. It worked, and it's still running to this day. One of the problems I had before it took the toll on me was that it would become a frying pan. It would be running at these ridiculous temps. It still runs at those temps sometimes when I'm using CPU/RAM intensive software.

    I decided I needed a backup solution in case my MacBook Pro decided to troll me again. So I started my first Hackintosh project which is now my main desktop computer. I couldn't be happier. This is what I've been looking for.

    I'm a web engineer, photographer, and videographer with many other hobbies and interests. I use a variety of different CPU/RAM intensive applications and needed a somewhat high end computer to accommodate for all my computing needs.

    So my journey begins..

    Bios Settings
    • Set bios to load optimal defaults
    • Advanced RAM Settings - X.M.P. = Profile1 (RAM Frequency is 1600Mhz)
    • SATA Mode Selection = AHCI
    • XHCI mode = Auto (for best USB performance)
    • XHCI hand-off and EHCI hand-off = enabled
    • Wake on LAN = disabled
    • HPET = enabled
    • Soft-off by pwr-buttn = delay 4 seconds (personal preference)

    Installation
    I prepared my 8Gb USB with Mavericks 10.9.3 downloaded from the App Store using UniBeast 3.0.1. I restarted, loaded my USB and clicked install. Away it went and about 30 minutes later it loaded into Mavericks miraculously.

    Post-Install
    After installing I used the MultiBeast 6.3.1 to select the following options:
    - Quick Start > DSDT Free
    - Drivers > Disk > TRIM Enabler > 10.9.x TRIM Patch
    - Drivers > Misc > FakeSMC v6.8.1307
    - Drivers > Network > Atheros > AtherosL1cEthernet 1.2.3
    - Drivers > Network > Intel > AppleIntelE1000e v3.0.4.1a
    - Drivers > System > AppleRTC Patch for CMOS Reset
    - Bootloaders > Chimera v3.0.1
    - Customize > Boot Options > Basic Boot Options
    - Customize > Boot Options > Generate CPU States
    - Customize > Boot Options > Hibernate Mode - Desktop
    - Customize > Boot Options > Use KernelCache
    - Customize > Boot Options > 1080p Display Mode (since I have a 1080p monitor)
    - Customize > System Definitions > Mac Pro > Mac Pro 3,1
    - Customize > Themes > tonymacx86 Black

    I've attached my custom DSDT at the bottom of this post.

    Note: I had to use MultiBeast 5.5.5 to install my audio driver Realtek ALCxxx > ALC898. Not sure why the driver in MultiBeast 6.3.1 won't work.

    Note: I edited /Extra/org.chameleon.Boot.plist to include the following string injection since I'm using two 1080p HDMI monitors:
    <key>device-properties</key>
    <string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000000006601140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31</string>

    Since my motherboard only includes one HDMI out, I used a DVI male to HDMI female convertor to connect my secondary monitor.

    What Works
    • Line In Audio (blue/green/red) on motherboard, and the Line In Headphone and Mic In on the front of the case
    • Both Ethernet ports (top and bottom)
    • USB 3.0/2.0/1.0 on motherboard and USB 3.0 on the front of the case
    • Firewire on motherboard and front of case
    • Onboard graphics VGA/DVI/HDMI
    • DVD/CD Combo drive
    • Shut down, Hibernate/Sleep, Restart

    Overall, this project has become very rewarding. Although I had a few issues getting everything to work properly, I couldn't have done it without the research, dedication, and the help from many members of the tonymacx86 community. Hopefully this informational post has helped others with similar builds.

    Thanks, all the best, and happy Hackintoshing!

    Change Log

    edit: Process was wrong by using Lion installer 10.7.0. Solved by using 10.7.4 installer.
    edit: Multibeast settings were wrong and resulted in kernel panics. Solved with proper settings.
    edit: Resolution was 1024x768. Temporarily solved by editing boot.plist.
    edit: USB 3.0 wasn't working on my motherboard. Solved by setting XHCI mode = Auto (for best USB performance) and setting XHCI and EHCI hand-off = enabled.
    edit: Initially couldn't boot into Windows from Chimera but apparently I had to select the system reserved drive and not the NTFS Windows drive to load it. The naming conventions don't make sense to me, but it works. I additionally renamed the drives in org.chameleon.Boot.plist.
    edit: Shut down in menu bar didn't work. Solved by disabling wake on LAN in bios.
    edit: Audio wasn't working. Solved by installing the AppleHDA.kext with Kextbeast.
    edit: USB 3.0 wasn't working on the front of my case. Solved by switching the header I was plugged into from F_USB30_1 to F_USB30_2.
    edit: Added my story, geekbench 64 scores, cinebench scores, and a few screens.
    edit: RAM slots 3 and 4 didn't work and resulted in a boot loop. I solved this by RMA'ing my motherboard for a replacement. There must have been a defect.
    edit: Updated geekbench 64 scores, cinebench scores, and screens.
    edit: Updated to Mountain Lion 10.8.2, Added IOGear GBU521 Bluetooth 4.0 dongle (which sucks btw), Added Apple Wireless keyboard, Added two 24" ViewSonic VX2453mh LED Monitors
    edit: Updated to Mavericks 10.9.3, added custom bluetooth module, swapped Logitech Anywhere MX mouse for a Microsoft Sculpt Comfort mouse, audio crackles, iMessage doesn't work
    edit: Updated to Yosemite
    edit: Sold Hackintosh
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2017
  2. thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,935
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 3, 2012 at 7:32 AM #2
    thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,935
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    So before you actually start asking for help it would be a good idea to actually do some research and maybe try using the search function?

    The reason the graphics isn't working is because there's no OS X support for hacks as yet for the Intel HD 4000 graphics, as 10.7.5 isn't out yet.

    As for USB 3.0 issues, have a look here http://www.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=169&t=66178

    And for the audio, here http://www.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=66226

    All this information is available on the forums, but I guess it's easier to just make a post and bitch and whine about things not working instead of spending five minutes reading the information already available.
     
  3. Chuckles

    Chuckles

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    10.8.1
    CPU:
    Ivy Bridge 3750k
    Graphics:
    GTS450
    Jul 3, 2012 at 1:11 PM #3
    Chuckles

    Chuckles

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    10.8.1
    CPU:
    Ivy Bridge 3750k
    Graphics:
    GTS450
    I have a similar build, however I'm running discrete graphics, not HD 4000. I believe your USB problems lies in the fact that your install source is 10.7.0. Go to the app store and download Lion from there, and use that as your installation media.

    Load Bios Optimal Defaults, and start over, I have all USB3.0/2.0 working on my system under 10.7.4. Without any kext or bios changes from default

    There are a number of user builds with this mobo in the forums showing their Multibeast settings to get audio working. My works via a Pyle PUSB102
     
  4. Chuckles

    Chuckles

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    10.8.1
    CPU:
    Ivy Bridge 3750k
    Graphics:
    GTS450
    Jul 3, 2012 at 1:16 PM #4
    Chuckles

    Chuckles

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    10.8.1
    CPU:
    Ivy Bridge 3750k
    Graphics:
    GTS450
    Your process is wrong here too... if you're going to run the combo update then after the update do not reboot, run multibeast, if it crashes, run it again. Then bridge helper, then reboot. Are you swapping the kernel after the initial install? Just install from 10.7.4, there are 8 guides here to follow if done with the 10.7.4 source.
     
  5. sweeznit

    sweeznit

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    Mac Pro Hackintosh
    CPU:
    i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 4, 2012 at 4:56 PM #5
    sweeznit

    sweeznit

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    Mac Pro Hackintosh
    CPU:
    i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks, I ended up using the latest 10.7.4 Lion install from the app store and that solved some of my problems. I updated my post with my edits. Unfortunately, my USB 3.0 still doesn't seem to work on the front of my case even after setting XHCI mode to Auto as "thelostswede" described. It now works on my mobo though.
     
  6. emam

    emam

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA 980ti SLI
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, iMac, Lisa, PowerBook, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 5, 2012 at 6:28 AM #6
    emam

    emam

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    EVGA 980ti SLI
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, iMac, Lisa, PowerBook, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hey sweeznit,

    Same MB, same bios settings regarding USB3. I have a similar prob, they work fine on the MB, but my front USB3 port is not working either. Works fine in Win7.

    I was going to try moving which usb3 header I'm plugged into to see what happens. If I make any progress, Ill let you know.

    My case is the Silverstone Fortress FT02.

    -emam
     
  7. taumaz

    taumaz

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Motherboard:
    10.8.2
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 5, 2012 at 10:44 AM #7
    taumaz

    taumaz

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Motherboard:
    10.8.2
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    the shutdown issue is fixed on this board (z77x-ud5h) by setting the "wake for lan" to disabled in your bios.

    and i also thought my usb 3.0 on the case were not working as well but it turns out they would only work with something that actually supported usb 3.0 , meaning they would not downgrade to 2.0 as the back 4 on the board would?

    hope this helps
     
  8. thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,935
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 5, 2012 at 11:36 AM #8
    thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,935
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Did you enable xHCI and EHCI hand-off in the UEFI?

     
  9. taumaz

    taumaz

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Motherboard:
    10.8.2
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 5, 2012 at 11:47 AM #9
    taumaz

    taumaz

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Motherboard:
    10.8.2
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    other than the wake on lan, my bios are the "optimised" settings, i had just read your other post and was planning on looking into that (xHCI) when i get home from work. so i have what ever the otimised value is.

    if i remember correctly, your other thread indicated that when xHCI is set to "smart auto" the usb 3.0 should "downgrade" to 2.0 when needed?

    this is what happens for the back 4 ports so i have a feeling this is what i already have but will check when i get home from work.
     
  10. thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,935
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 5, 2012 at 12:29 PM #10
    thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,935
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    No, that's not what I said. And the hand-off settings are separate options and not located next to the settings in that post.
    You need to enable xHCI and EHCI hand-off or OS X isn't happy.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice