GA-P75-D3 / Pro Tools HD4 PCI / Successful Build

Discussion in 'Mountain Lion Desktop Support' started by BillieJo, Oct 7, 2013.

  1. BillieJo

    BillieJo

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Mobo:
    GA-P75-D3 (rev. 1.0)
    CPU:
    3.5GHz i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GeForce 9500 GT
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Oct 7, 2013 at 5:22 PM #1
    BillieJo

    BillieJo

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Mobo:
    GA-P75-D3 (rev. 1.0)
    CPU:
    3.5GHz i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GeForce 9500 GT
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Hello fellow Pro Tools HD users.
    After months of laboring over this build (should I or shouldn't I?) I can today (jinx?) say I have a very stable and successful HD4 PCI build. I DID NOT have to make any alterations to the heat sink as outlined in freddar's incredibility helpful video.
    You do have to follow his guide carefully and make note of the deletions and MultiBeast info. This is a must!

    I was able to just use electrical tape over the last row of "teeth" on the first two (core and 1st Accel) cards and they fit tight but nicely between the heatsink ridges. The 3rd Accel card covers the Sata3 port but I pushed the card to fit the sata cable in and the 4th card goes in with no obstruction at all.

    I'm still in the process of checking things but I had the system up all day yesterday mixing a small but plugin filled session with no problems.

    I've got a UAD quad card in the (1st) PCIe x1 slot working.
    A GeForce 9500GT video card in the (2nd) PCIex16 slot with both DVI outputs working. THIS TOOK SOME DOING!!
    PCI slots 1 > 4 (3rd > 6th) are occupied by the Digidesign Core and Accel cards.
    The final PCIex4 slot is occupied by a Rosewill RC-230 SataIII Raid Controller card.
    This gives me additional Sata and e-Sata capacity.
    I've also put a Plextor M5M PX-256M5M mSATA SSD into the MBs m-Sata slot.

    So as you can see, this build is quite full and everything works nicely.
    I have full USB 3 speed and full SATA 3(SATA 6Gb/s) speed as far as I can tell.

    I'll keep you all posted if something changes.
     
  2. Jockerstudio

    Jockerstudio

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P75-D3
    CPU:
    I7 3770
    Graphics:
    GT 520
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2014 at 9:31 PM #2
    Jockerstudio

    Jockerstudio

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P75-D3
    CPU:
    I7 3770
    Graphics:
    GT 520
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS



    Hi !



    I have many problems installing mavericks on GA P75 D 3...

    i make unibeast from from my friend IMac, i could install mavericks with sucess, but i cant boot afetar instalation. (booting from USB again and select installed HD and trying lot of arguments -x -F -f -v...

    when loading mavericks the system shutdown always. With -v i see the error message: CPUHALTED

    I seaching a lot of CPUHALTED but i cannot fix then. Do you have a sugestion ?


    I algo have pro tools hd3 pcix for post instalation...

    thanks for help
     
  3. fredbu

    fredbu

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    gigabyte
    CPU:
    intel i5 3.3
    Graphics:
    nvidia evga asus
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 19, 2015 at 1:50 AM #3
    fredbu

    fredbu

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    gigabyte
    CPU:
    intel i5 3.3
    Graphics:
    nvidia evga asus
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    me too i install mavericks but canot boot ....with x maybe try to install multi beast driver on drive from another working h87m ...
     
  4. squizo

    squizo

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H55-USB3
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3470s
    Graphics:
    EVGA 9500GT
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 27, 2015 at 2:26 AM #4
    squizo

    squizo

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H55-USB3
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3470s
    Graphics:
    EVGA 9500GT
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Is there a reason why you guys went to Mavericks? Im still at 10.8.2 and everything is running as it should in PT10 HD.

    I cant imagine there are plugins that will only run on Mavericks and up - but i could be wrong
     
  5. kokkobil3

    kokkobil3

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Nov 28, 2016 at 10:04 PM #5
    kokkobil3

    kokkobil3

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Hello guys, did you ever manage to move to a higher system? been using HD4 on Ga-P75-D3 with 10.8.5 since 2 years, would love to upgrade to a HDX card (as now is possible to buy just the cards), with (at least) 10.9 to get the benefits of ProTools 12.6.
    any good experience?
    thanks

    Kokko


     

Share This Page