2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
:cry::cry: Noooooooooo!
Hello folks.
I was installing Ubuntu for a friend yesterday using my G5 Hackintosh. I had a SATA drive with ubuntu installer on it, and a blank drive. well i only have 2 3.5" slots (G5 rack) so i removed my 1TB main drive, and put in the other 2. I powered up and now it won't work, AT ALL! I have it now on the bench in my shop, out of the case, with just my mobo, CPU and Ram. I tried 3 different PSU's. With the ram out the POST buzzer beeeps slowly (the normal ram error) but with ram, it does nothing (that i can tell) the fan spins up, but there is no video out on any port and if i throw in an old GFX card, there is nothing from that, either. there is no post of any kind, and i have no error code port. it just hangs there with the fan on low forever. I have re-seated the ram and CPU multiple times. this build has been working A-OK for 5 months at least, and i am a total noob and have no idea what to do next.

Remove the power lead.
Remove the CMOS battery - It looks like a chrome coin - Wait a short time then put it back.
Or there will be a jumper somewhere to short and clear the CMOS but it's easier to just pull the battery for a short time.
This will clear all the settings in the BIOS back to defaults.
Plug the power lead back in and switch on.

Tried that, It had no effect. after I reset cmos the fan spun up for a second, then resumed its normal infinite hang. could the bios be corupt? It has Gigabyte dual-bios, but i don't know how well that really works. I bet if i had replacements i could solder them on without screwing too much up.

Tried that, It had no effect. after I reset cmos the fan spun up for a second, then resumed its normal infinite hang. could the bios be corupt? It has Gigabyte dual-bios, but i don't know how well that really works. I bet if i had replacements i could solder them on without screwing too much up.