Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
So I know a full ATX fits but why wouldn't everyone just use a mATX? I'm new to building computers and I don't understand. mATX boards seem as feature rich to me as a full one. Can someone help straighten me out?

Because mATX only have 4 extension slots, which fits perfectly with the 4 extension slots in the G5 case. With an ATX you have more, and therefore need to cut out the whole back and make a new one in aluminium.

aaahhh ok. Thanks. So you're saying if I already ordered a mountain mods motherboard tray and back panel I should go with an ATX lol.

SPerk15 said:
aaahhh ok. Thanks. So you're saying if I already ordered a mountain mods motherboard tray and back panel I should go with an ATX lol.

If you're willing to cut in your G5 chassis, then yeah.

Like this:

PSU-fitting-2.jpg

rear-running-without-side-cvr.jpg

Check this out: http://www.1neilhart.com/G5-Hack/index1.html

Or like this :D
I went full ATX with Mountain Mod Mobo tray because at first I had it set up with only cutting the IO section out. But I ran out of PCI slots (with only 4) and decided to get a mobo tray and cut out the back.

IMG_5014.jpg

thanks guys!

@eelhead- I ordered the same tray/back combo as you and have a quick question. I don't have the parts in front of me now (I had them shipped to my parents house as I'm on sabbatical for 2 more months), so I'm sure I'll understand the moment I can actually see the pieces, but how did you screw the back panel to the backside of the case?

I envision it as say if the tray is 11 inches tall by say 7 inches wide (lets just make it a rectange for easy explanation), then did you cut a whole in your case 10 1/2 by 6 1/2 inches and screw the case into the overlapping aluminum?

Thanks!

1) Remove the original backplate and the standoffs.
2) JB welt some new standoffs in position for your tray
3) Mount the tray :)

Would be my take.