N/A
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hello,

I'm interested in starting a G5 case mod. Nothing exciting, but I plan on using one of these pre-made cables for the front panel:

http://g5atxcables.weebly.com/g5-atx-adapter-cables.html

Because I feel this will save me a headache. In the description though it explains that motherboards that do not come with firewire natively require a ground jumper to allow the front panel to operate without the firewire port active..

As the GA-Z77-DS3H doesn't include firewire as a standard port I am planning on getting a PCI card, but I assume I can't hook the front panel up to work from a PCI card?

Also. They mention the front panel sound does not work with some GA Z77 motherboards unless a "jumper" is used. I'm not experienced enough with computers to understand exactly what this means. Would someone be able to explain from the link to the pre-made front panel cable what exactly the audio jumper is required for and would I need one fora DS3H motherboard?

Thanks! :mrgreen:

FireWire -
Use this card or just run the FW gnd wire to any motherboard ground.
SYBA SD-PEX30009 Low Profile PCI-Express 1394B Firewire Controller Card

Front Audio -

Check this post. It's what worked for me.

http://www.tonymacx86.com/powermac-...el-audio-jack-alohacabs-cable.html#post549967

Cheers!
So to get the front panel to work I need to get the SYBA SD-PEX30009 Low Profile PCI-Express 1394B Firewire Controller Card that will take care of all the ports or is that just for the FireWire? I don't think I need audio coming from the g5 if I have it connected to my tv via HDMI

The syba card is only useful if you have the AlohaCab or blackCH cable. The front panel is grounded thru the FireWire, that's why it's required. I've purchased two of the cables. Best money you'll spend on the G5 build.

I'm still not getting why I need it. Is this needed for the power button or USB in the front panel