NVidia
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Good day everyone!

I am in the planning stages of my very first Mac OS build. I have been building Windows based systems for over 20 years now so my questions will be more from the side of compatibility and ease of configuring. I have been reading this forum for over a year now and based on what I had learned from all of you, I had successfully installed the Snow Leopard DVD on my old Dell XPS M1530. The whole reason I decided to experiment with Mac OS is because my wife and I are both iPhone/iPad users and my wife has been asking me for a Macbook Air for some time now. I told her I needed to learn the OS so I can answer her usage questions before buying otherwise I'd probably end up in the dog house!

After installing the OS on my Dell, I was very surprised to find that I actually preferred Mac OS over windows. So my plan was to purchase and iMac when the new models came out. Unfortunately, Apples decision to significantly limit their configuration options has forced me into designing my own build and so here I am asking for all of your help.

As my header states, I am in need of a system that will have no issue running any sort of game at the highest of settings. In addition, I do a lot of editing and recording of uncompressed video using a Black Magic Intensity Pro board. I then edit the video using a couple software packages, mostly Adobe Premier. And then I encode the video to .h264 for distribution. I am not sure if the Intensity Pro card has drivers for Mac OS, so I will also be installing Windows 8 on this system as well (for gaming also).

Processor:
I am pretty much set on an Intel i7-3770K

Motherboard: