First Custom Hackintosh

Discussion in 'Buying Advice' started by quik59sat, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. quik59sat

    quik59sat

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Dec 23, 2011 at 8:06 AM #1
    quik59sat

    quik59sat

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Looking to use the following parts:

    Mobo: Gigabyte Intel Z68 ATX GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
    SSD: OCZ 60 GB SSD AGT3-25SAT3-60G
    CPU: Intel Core i5-2405S 2.5Ghz
    Vid Card: Zotac ZT-40606-20L nVidia GeForce GT430
    PS: Antec BP550 Plus 550W ATX12V
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance Blue 16 GB DD3

    This is my first build, any input is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,182
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H67A-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1240
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX660Ti
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 23, 2011 at 8:57 AM #2
    Jamesbond007

    Jamesbond007

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,182
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H67A-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1240
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GTX660Ti
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Are you going to use Lion? If so this should be fine.
     
  3. Sasquatch00

    Sasquatch00

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68 UD4 B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K @ 4.5
    Graphics:
    MSI TF GTX 780
    Dec 23, 2011 at 9:40 AM #3
    Sasquatch00

    Sasquatch00

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68 UD4 B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K @ 4.5
    Graphics:
    MSI TF GTX 780

    Not sure what you are planning to put on your SSD, but I'd go a little bit higher in size, 80-120g. I have a 120g and while I only filled about 60, that puts you at almost full capacity.

    I'm running Snow Leopard with things like Final Cut Pro, Logic Studio (without samples) and a few other somewhat large programs, and I'm up to about 55-60gigs used. There's very little extraneous on my main drive, everything else of any size is on HDDs elsewhere.

    Just as a heads up.
     
  4. quik59sat

    quik59sat

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Dec 23, 2011 at 4:57 PM #4
    quik59sat

    quik59sat

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Yes, I'm planning to run Lion on it.

    Thanks for the heads up, I didn't realize the base build would take up that much space.
     
  5. Sasquatch00

    Sasquatch00

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68 UD4 B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K @ 4.5
    Graphics:
    MSI TF GTX 780
    Dec 24, 2011 at 1:53 AM #5
    Sasquatch00

    Sasquatch00

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68 UD4 B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K @ 4.5
    Graphics:
    MSI TF GTX 780
    Thanks for the heads up, I didn't realize the base build would take up that much space.[/quote]


    I double checked and it looks like I have about 15-20gb of samples that Logic forces you to have on your main drive. So that could be deducted unless you plan on using logic/garage band.
     

Share This Page