Contribute
Register

FAQ for Mountain Lion on HP Probook

Joined
Apr 12, 2011
Messages
262
Motherboard
Probook 4540s
CPU
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3632QM CPU @ 2.20GHz, 2201 Mhz
Graphics
AMD Raden HD 7650m
Mobile Phone
iOS,
1. Did you disable "Wake on USB" and "Wake on LAN" as described in the guide?

Yes I did follow your guide exactly. After the install, all of my three OS were shutting down when I restart that so I must have done something stupid in BIOS so I reset it to defaults. Anyway sleep is working now after unchecking the above selections. Sorry about this.

I noticed another thing related to number of processor cores. Ubuntu and Windows correctly displaying 8 cores of my processor as expected (duh ) however in About Mac or HWMonitor, its only 4 cores. More interesting is that according to verbose boot logs there are 8 cores! Please see screen links attached.

Battery remain stuck at 96% on AC plugged in fully charged.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19583075/Screen Shot 2013-10-24 at 4.29.46 PM.png

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19583075/Screen Shot 2013-10-24 at 4.32.42 PM.png

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19583075/Screen Shot 2013-10-24 at 4.32.59 PM.png
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
189,144
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
1. Did you disable "Wake on USB" and "Wake on LAN" as described in the guide?

Yes I did follow your guide exactly. After the install, all of my three OS were shutting down when I restart that so I must have done something stupid in BIOS so I reset it to defaults. Anyway sleep is working now after unchecking the above selections. Sorry about this.

I noticed another thing related to number of processor cores. Ubuntu and Windows correctly displaying 8 cores of my processor as expected (duh ) however in About Mac or HWMonitor, its only 4 cores. More interesting is that according to verbose boot logs there are 8 cores! Please see screen links attached.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19583075/Screen Shot 2013-10-24 at 4.29.46 PM.png

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19583075/Screen Shot 2013-10-24 at 4.32.42 PM.png

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19583075/Screen Shot 2013-10-24 at 4.32.59 PM.png
Your CPU has 4 cores. Each core has two "logical processors" due to hyperthreading.

Battery remain stuck at 96% on AC plugged in fully charged.
That is normal/by design. The battery charging hardware/firmware will not start new charge until a certain threshold is reached (somewhere around 93%). It makes the battery last longer in order to reduce cycles.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2011
Messages
262
Motherboard
Probook 4540s
CPU
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3632QM CPU @ 2.20GHz, 2201 Mhz
Graphics
AMD Raden HD 7650m
Mobile Phone
iOS,
Why isn't there reputation points system in this forum? I would like to give you some :D Thanks man !

P.S, will be doing clean install of Mavericks over the weekend, thanks for your Maverick guide!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
189,144
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Why isn't there reputation points system in this forum? I would like to give you some :D Thanks man !

P.S, will be doing clean install of Mavericks over the weekend, thanks for your Maverick guide!
Thanks and good luck with the Mavericks install.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2011
Messages
262
Motherboard
Probook 4540s
CPU
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3632QM CPU @ 2.20GHz, 2201 Mhz
Graphics
AMD Raden HD 7650m
Mobile Phone
iOS,
Clean install success as per guide. The only minor thing is that the blink screen execution is a little slower than ML. Moreover, I'm not sure with ^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@ logs in verbose during the boot (it happened to me on ML too).

Rest assured! :D
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP4350s
CPU
i3-2310
Graphics
Intel 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi successfully followed your excellent multi boot instructions http://racerrehabman.wordpress.com/...indows-8-mac-os-x-lion-and-ubuntu-multi-boot/
to build a dual boot Win7 and ML HP Probook using a single 500GB HDD some months ago but now I would like to move to a 120GB SSD (re-using the HDD for the data). Was thinking of partitioning the SSD and then cloning the partitions to copy across rather than going through the full rebuild process but can't find any definitive advice. Would appreciate your feedback....thanks
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
189,144
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi successfully followed your excellent multi boot instructions http://racerrehabman.wordpress.com/...indows-8-mac-os-x-lion-and-ubuntu-multi-boot/
to build a dual boot Win7 and ML HP Probook using a single 500GB HDD some months ago but now I would like to move to a 120GB SSD (re-using the HDD for the data). Was thinking of partitioning the SSD and then cloning the partitions to copy across rather than going through the full rebuild process but can't find any definitive advice. Would appreciate your feedback....thanks
It is possible, but you will have to fix the \BOOT\BCD files for the Windows bootloader using BCDEDIT.
 
Top