Contribute
Register

External Monitor not detected on Sierra 10.12.6 - Intel HD 3000 Graphics on ThinkPad t430S

Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
Thinkpad 430s-Clover
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD 4000
I used the clover option to install the Hackintosh. I am new and not sure why the graphics/video does not work with any external monitor.
Can someone please guide me to right direction!!
Thanks
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
192,090
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I used the clover option to install the Hackintosh. I am new and not sure why the graphics/video does not work with any external monitor.
Can someone please guide me to right direction!!
Thanks
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.

Also, your profile is not filled as requested in the FAQ. Please fix before your next reply.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
Thinkpad 430s-Clover
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD 4000
I'm sorry for not following the steps. I have updated my profile and attached the config.plist. I tried the gen_debug.sh and installed but not sure where is the debug report. I have attached the config.plist.
Mobo: Thinkpad 430s (Clover UEFI)

CPU: i5-2.59 ghz

Graphics: HD3000, 1600x900
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
192,090
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm sorry for not following the steps. I have updated my profile and attached the config.plist. I tried the gen_debug.sh and installed but not sure where is the debug report. I have attached the config.plist.
Mobo: Thinkpad 430s (Clover UEFI)

CPU: i5-2.59 ghz

Graphics: HD3000, 1600x900
"Problem Reporting" files are incomplete.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
Thinkpad 430s-Clover
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD 4000
Finally, I was able to. Appreciate your patience!!

Please find attached.
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
192,090
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Finally, I was able to. Appreciate your patience!!

Please find attached.
Your laptop has HD4000, not HD3000.
Refer to the guide for correct config.plist:

Please fix your profile as per FAQ:
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
Thinkpad 430s-Clover
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD 4000
Thanks for the reply!
My System Report shows HD3000. Hence, I thought graphic card is hd 3000.

I tired following steps, unfortunately no luck!
  1. As per the Guide listed in your reply, I downloaded Lily, WhateverGreen kexts into Other folder - tried only with this first, did not work.
  2. Then used the -cdfon boot flag - got the panic screen
  3. Then used the ig-platofrom-hd values for both of these, one by one. Did not work.
0x01660003: HD4000 1366x768
0x01660004: HD4000 1600x900, 1920x1080

Not sure what else is being asked in the guide. Sorry if I'm missing. VGA does not work as I read other articles. But the HDMI external monitor should. What else I can do?

Thanks
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
192,090
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for the reply!
My System Report shows HD3000. Hence, I thought graphic card is hd 3000.

I tired following steps, unfortunately no luck!
  1. As per the Guide listed in your reply, I downloaded Lily, WhateverGreen kexts into Other folder - tried only with this first, did not work.
  2. Then used the -cdfon boot flag - got the panic screen
  3. Then used the ig-platofrom-hd values for both of these, one by one. Did not work.
0x01660003: HD4000 1366x768
0x01660004: HD4000 1600x900, 1920x1080

Not sure what else is being asked in the guide. Sorry if I'm missing. VGA does not work as I read other articles. But the HDMI external monitor should. What else I can do?

Thanks
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
Thinkpad 430s-Clover
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD 4000
Thanks. I have attached the new dump file. Please find attached.

Following steps were taken after my last reply:
1. I looked a youtube video and learned that the device id (0x01668086) and ig-platoform_hd (0x01660004)
needed to be set up for hd4000. I did that, and it seems, if I wait for few minutes (2-3 minutes) on Clover boot screen, then the 1536 MB graphics card loaded. If I hit the boot screen as soon as shows, then it does NOT. Very strange. I guess it takes time to load. I kept ig-platoform_hd to hd4000
Attached Dump is with this setting.

2. Then I read the article in your site and tried with the AppleIntelFramebufferCapri, after the sudo command to change the port. I used the kext installed and restarted the computer. First time it detected the external monitor with the DVportto VGA adapter. I have an adapter (DV port in my pc then gives VGA to connect with my tv, the external monitor).
In my thinkpad t430s, don't have the HDMI port. But then the graphics did not load properly. it loaded only 1000 mb and screens flickered a lot. hence, I removed the kext and restarted. But now the external monitor is not detected. So I guess, this is something related to the AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/probook-intel-hd-4000-script-for-external-display.112510/

Thank you!!
 

Attachments

Top