CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
HD 5670
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
I have a GA-P55M-UD4 motherboard. I have Snow Leopard installed but I am still starting it with the Chameleon CD. My ethernet connection is not active. When I boot into OSX the LEDs aren't active on my ethernet connection on the back of the motherboard. I know nothing about OSX but from what I can see in looking at the settings it didn't recognize my onboard ethernet port during the install.

The other issue I am having is that when I reboot I get a CMOS checksum error. I have Windows 7 installed on another hard disk that is currently not connected and never received a checksum error when I booted to it. Am I missing something in the BIOS that I should be setting to another value?

I will download and install the new BIOS. When I checked last week Ver. F7 was in beta so I opted to update to F6. I will install F7 and see what happens.

I don't want to ask a stupid question but since I'm a newbie and learning I need to, how do I install a kext file? A link with some information would be fine. I don't expect you to spend a lot of time trying to explain everything to me. Is installing a kext about the same as copying the files to make the OSX drive bootable without using Chameleon in Tony's guides?

Thanks for the help!

Well, the simple way is to use the kext helper on the tonymac disc in this case, read step 3 here http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2009/12/ ... -from.html which seems to be the part you missed and why you don't have Ethernet working.

The CMOS errors, I really don't know, could be a wide range of things that causes that, not specific to OSX.