DVI TO HDMI LEAD no audio

Discussion in 'HDMI Audio' started by Disco74, Sep 17, 2017.

  1. Disco74

    Disco74

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060
    Sep 17, 2017 at 9:43 PM #1
    Disco74

    Disco74

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060
    Hi guys
    First attempt at a mackintosh
    All seems to be working except I have no audio when connecting my GTX 1060 via dvi to hdmi lead. I get audio when using this lead in Windows and I also get audio using a hdmi to hdmi lead in OSX/Windows? Would a display port to hdmi lead work better?
    Could anyone help me out how to solve this please.
     
  2. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,610
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 18, 2017 at 3:27 AM #2
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,610
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No native macOS HDMI audio is non native hardware.
    Fix: see HDMI Audio AppleHDA/cloverHDMI
     
  3. Disco74

    Disco74

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060
    Sep 18, 2017 at 10:59 AM #3
    Disco74

    Disco74

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060
    So just to confirm this will fix no audio issue when using DVI(from PC) to HDMI(to TV)? Worried I might mess it up and stop the HDMI to HDMI audio working!
     
  4. Disco74

    Disco74

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060
    Sep 20, 2017 at 2:16 PM #4
    Disco74

    Disco74

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060
    Absolutely no offence meant but that guide is very difficult for me to understand and make sense of. Is there an easier way or a simpler step by step guide?
     
  5. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,610
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 21, 2017 at 1:55 AM #5
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,610
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If HDMI 2 HDMI audio is working, DVI 2 HDMI is working; nothing to break.
     

Share This Page