DVI TO HDMI LEAD no audio

Discussion in 'HDMI Audio' started by Disco74, Sep 17, 2017.

  1. Disco74

    Disco74

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060
    Sep 17, 2017 at 9:43 PM #1
    Disco74

    Disco74

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060
    Hi guys
    First attempt at a mackintosh
    All seems to be working except I have no audio when connecting my GTX 1060 via dvi to hdmi lead. I get audio when using this lead in Windows and I also get audio using a hdmi to hdmi lead in OSX/Windows? Would a display port to hdmi lead work better?
    Could anyone help me out how to solve this please.
     
  2. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    22,598
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 18, 2017 at 3:27 AM #2
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    22,598
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No native macOS HDMI audio is non native hardware.
    Fix: see HDMI Audio AppleHDA/cloverHDMI
     
  3. Disco74

    Disco74

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060
    Sep 18, 2017 at 10:59 AM #3
    Disco74

    Disco74

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060
    So just to confirm this will fix no audio issue when using DVI(from PC) to HDMI(to TV)? Worried I might mess it up and stop the HDMI to HDMI audio working!
     
  4. Disco74

    Disco74

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060
    Sep 20, 2017 at 2:16 PM #4
    Disco74

    Disco74

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060
    Absolutely no offence meant but that guide is very difficult for me to understand and make sense of. Is there an easier way or a simpler step by step guide?
     
    wasabi25 likes this.
  5. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    22,598
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 21, 2017 at 1:55 AM #5
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    22,598
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If HDMI 2 HDMI audio is working, DVI 2 HDMI is working; nothing to break.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice