Contribute
Register

Dual Boot MacOSX and Linux

Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
52
Motherboard
10.8.2
CPU
3.5 i7
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Already have MacOSX up and running. Trying to install and dual boot Linux Mint on separate HD. I have tried several guides but when I boot, Chimera does not see Linux HD? Is there a simple guide to this setup?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,161
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Already have MacOSX up and running. Trying to install and dual boot Linux Mint on separate HD. I have tried several guides but when I boot, Chimera does not see Linux HD? Is there a simple guide to this setup?

You need to be sure to install grub to a partition, not the disk.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
52
Motherboard
10.8.2
CPU
3.5 i7
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Ok ... do I install grub on linux HD and make a new partition? How do I move it/install it?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,161
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok ... do I install grub on linux HD and make a new partition? How do I move it/install it?

I never have used Linux Mint. Only Ubuntu. I describe how to install grub to a partition in my multi-boot guide on my blog. Link in signature.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2013
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Now that you already have OSX installed, then use the Disk Utility to resize the main partition. Create some empty space, where we will install the Linux. take a moment first to learn about rEFIt which will simplify this kind of installation. This rEFIt will help you in reserving some space for the other OS. When you have successfully installed the two (OSX and rEFIt). You reboot and kind of get rid of the rEFIt to replace the new OS. If you are getting confused check here (http://nosemaj.org/dual-boot-mac-linux) because this is a supper delicate step. Do not mess up your machine read the content of the above link. Or check this other way here http://www.techyv.com/questions/how-install-dual-operating-system.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2013
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Same for me, chimera can't see the linux partition, only see Windows 7 and Mac, same or separate disk.
is a bug???
is possible to manual edit chimera menu like as grub or "windows 7 boot"???
i tired to trie guides and guides to multiboot, chimera fails.
refit in the macbook run perfectly with same setup.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,236
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Same for me, chimera can't see the linux partition, only see Windows 7 and Mac, same or separate disk.
is a bug???
is possible to manual edit chimera menu like as grub or "windows 7 boot"???
i tired to trie guides and guides to multiboot, chimera fails.
refit in the macbook run perfectly with same setup.

did you sync the partitions after installation? this is required for installing on same HDD.

Did you install Grub to root ( / ) or to /boot? This is required for chameleon/chimera bootloader to be able to see the linux drive as bootable.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
OSx10.10.3 GA-Z77N-WIFI
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti (BlackEdition) 2GB / Samsung Dual 24" (TV24C550)
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. Other
Dual Boot MacOSX and Linux -- some research about this bug

I haven't been able to get any method to work as of yet. However I have found some interesting things that I would like to share.

Explanation:
1.) an alternate bootloader rEFIt has a program in it called Partition Inspector. Using that program to look at the partition table the output shows that the linux partitions have no "Boot Code" I even changed those partitions to a GPT type 0700 using gdisk in linux so they would be labeled as type Basic Data, this did not change the "boot code" for the ext3 partition.

Partition Inspector Output ---->
*** Report for internal hard disk ***
Current GPT partition table:
# Start LBA End LBA Type
1 40 409639 EFI System (FAT)
2 409640 93296639 Mac OS X HFS+
3 93558784 156056830 Basic Data
4 156057600 218558463 Basic Data
5 218558464 250068991 Linux Swap
Current MBR partition table:
# A Start LBA End LBA Type
1 1 409639 ee EFI Protective
2 * 409640 93296639 af Mac OS X HFS+
3 93558784 156056830 83 Linux
4 156057600 218558463 07 NTFS/HPFS
MBR contents:
Boot Code: Unknown, but bootable
Partition at LBA 40:
Boot Code: None (Non-system disk message)
File System: FAT32
Listed in GPT as partition 1, type EFI System (FAT)
Partition at LBA 409640:
Boot Code: Unknown, but bootable
File System: HFS Extended (HFS+)
Listed in GPT as partition 2, type Mac OS X HFS+
Listed in MBR as partition 2, type af Mac OS X HFS+, active
Partition at LBA 93558784:
Boot Code: None////this is where there should be a boot code?!?!?!/////
File System: ext3
Listed in GPT as partition 3, type Basic Data
Listed in MBR as partition 3, type 83 Linux
Partition at LBA 156057600:
Boot Code: Windows BOOTMGR (Vista)
File System: NTFS
Listed in GPT as partition 4, type Basic Data
Listed in MBR as partition 4, type 07 NTFS/HPFS
Partition at LBA 218558464:
Boot Code: None
File System: Unknown
Listed in GPT as partition 5, type Linux Swap


2.) In my first ref. I found that maybe part of the problem is how linux is formatting the partitions it is using. I am using the latest linux mint distro that should be pretty much the same as ubuntu. The linux partition manager is gparted the library file to edit the partition is libparted. Even though I am using the latest distro the libparted version is 1.xxx something. unfortunately this version does not support some of the flags that GPT partions use such as the Microsoft Basic Data type (0700). I think by default linux makes a GPT type for EFI or something 00e0 i think.

3.) After trying many things I played around with Chimera quite a bit. One thing I did notice is that if a partition is formatted by linux ->gparted or osx -> diskutility in FAT16, FAT32, or NTSF. than the chimera bootloader will add those partitions to the boot menu with or without any data on them, additionally the boot code for those partitions is automatically added. I can never get TUX to appear though.

4.) I have tried GPTSYNC, the latest chameleon and chimera, and reinstalled linuxMint at least 6 times. The only way grub bootloader worked was by selection that partition grub was on to boot from my bios.

I am going to keep trying and I will let anyone know what worked for me. It seems like everyone else is getting it. Maybe it is OS 10.8.5 or Linux... don't know.


References:
Linux needs to be updated is the problem (libparted)--> http://www.rodsbooks.com/linux-fs-code/index.html

rEFIt --> http://refit.sourceforge.net/doc/

archlinux stuff --> https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GUID_Partition_Table

My System:

Hack Mini Deluxe
ML 10.8.5 trying to Dual boot LinuxMINT 15

---MORE LINKS---
http://jonsview.com/fixing-mbr-tables-on-imac-or-mbp-triple-boot-setups

http://forums.opensuse.org/english/...artitions-tables-os-x-opensuse-dual-boot.html

https://developer.apple.com/library...man8/fdisk.8.html#//apple_ref/doc/man/8/fdisk

http://askubuntu.com/questions/286024/ubuntu-not-showing-up-in-refit-mac-dual-boot

http://www.rodsbooks.com/refind/

http://www.wijeyesakere.com/tech/osxlinux/
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
OSx10.10.3 GA-Z77N-WIFI
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti (BlackEdition) 2GB / Samsung Dual 24" (TV24C550)
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. Other
I think the way Chameleon/Chimera recognizes an OS to boot is via the GPT partition scheme. There is a field called "Boot Code" which is unrelated to the Partition type. I don't know how to change the "Boot Code" however with Disk Utility in OSX if a fat32 or ntsf (xfat) partition is created the "Boot Code" automatically gets added with NTSF or Fat32 bootable.

LinuxMINT and Ubuntu use GRUB as the boot loader this boot loader is capable of loading via MBR or EFI booting rules. For some reason grub will not chain load the latest Chimera bootloader it just hangs on the black screen after selecting it on Grub. As I mentioned above Chimera will not see the GRUB boot loader as EFI or MBR because the "Boot Code" in the GPT (GUID Partition Table) is left blank on the linux disks.

fdisk, gdisk, gptsync, etc... I can't find any options to force an edit of the "Boot Code" in the GPT for a linux partition.

Right now I can boot to linux by selecting the Partition in the BIOS menu... also rEFIT and rEFIND boot loaders will not replace chimera... I tried multiple reboots after installation and they just don't find the right place to be loaded first.

Here is a screenshot giving an example of how I had the SSD partitioned. (I have done it multiple ways this is just one example)

red - (MBR boot flag --> I moved this to the other partitions didn't make a difference)
blue - (the LBA I think is how to keep track of the location of partitions across the GPT/MBR hybrids)

yellow - (Partition type --> this can be changed to anything using gdisk or fdisk but will not affect the orange "boot code" output in the table.

orange - (Boot Code --> I think this is what Chimera/Chameleon looks for in a HD or Partition scheme to decide whether the bootloader is going to look for an OS to boot from. :banghead: this is what I wan't to change!!! HELP !!! :banghead: .

maybe someone can figure this out -- I think since I am running a hackintosh I also need to use Chimera or some bootloader that can work in conjunction with multibeast so that the correct options or *.plist file and DSDT is loaded.

Screen Shot 2013-09-17 at 11.33.43 AM.jpg
 
Top