Contribute
Register

Desktop background picture not sized properly in High Sierra 13.1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
45
Motherboard
GA-170X-UD5-TH - BIOS F22g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro

  1. Got High Sierra 13.1 Installed as a fresh install. After installing HS and getting to the desktop for the first time, my picture was sized correctly, showing the complete picture as it should be displayed.

    Now my desktop background picture is not sized correctly. According to my display properties, my screen resolution is set to 2560x1080. I have the LG 2K 34" Ultrawide monitor, using HDMI connection.

    This happened when I installed the Nvidia Web Drivers. As I stated earlier, before installing the Nvidia web drivers, my desktop picture was sized correctly, showing the whole picture. After installing the Nvidia web drivers, my desktop picture seems to be magnified and enlarged to fill the screen, thus cutting out a large portion of the original picture. I am not sure what is really causing this or how to fix this. I Attached pictures to show what I am trying to explain.

    Has anyone else experienced this problem and is there a resolution.



 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,254
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

  1. Got High Sierra 13.1 Installed as a fresh install. After installing HS and getting to the desktop for the first time, my picture was sized correctly, showing the complete picture as it should be displayed.

    Now my desktop background picture is not sized correctly. According to my display properties, my screen resolution is set to 2560x1080. I have the LG 2K 34" Ultrawide monitor, using HDMI connection.

    This happened when I installed the Nvidia Web Drivers. As I stated earlier, before installing the Nvidia web drivers, my desktop picture was sized correctly, showing the whole picture. After installing the Nvidia web drivers, my desktop picture seems to be magnified and enlarged to fill the screen, thus cutting out a large portion of the original picture. I am not sure what is really causing this or how to fix this. I Attached pictures to show what I am trying to explain.

    Has anyone else experienced this problem and is there a resolution.



What are the dimensions of the photo in pixels?
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
45
Motherboard
GA-170X-UD5-TH - BIOS F22g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
What are the dimensions of the photo in pixels?


Thanks for the reply Slim Jim. This picture is the default desktop for High Sierra. My screen resolution is 2560x1080 @ 60Hz. I have included copies of all the display settings that I could provide for you. As I stated, my monitor is an LG 2K 34" Ultrawide. Maybe you can provide some explanation on this.

Also, I installed the Nvidia Web Driver as follows:

Added Lilu.kext v1.20 and NvidiaGraphicsfixup.kext v1.21 in my other kext folder on my system's Clover EFI. Also added them to my /Library/Extensions folder with KextBeast.
Enabled SIP temporarily. (CsrActiveConfig to 0x0) and rebooted.
After reboot, I mounted EFI partition of of my Clover and edited the Colver configuration file (my plist), set SIP related setting CsrActiveConfig to 0x67, but did not reboot yet.
I installed the Nvidia Web Driver and rebooted after the installation was completed, as the installer demands.

Screen Shot 2017-11-06 at 9.19.01 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-11-06 at 9.19.41 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-11-06 at 9.20.09 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-11-06 at 9.20.31 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-11-06 at 9.23.11 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-11-06 at 9.34.46 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-11-06 at 11.39.47 AM.png
 
Last edited:

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,254
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here is the issue, well there really isn't an issue.

By default, desktop backgrounds are set to "Fill Screen" which means it will scale the image proportionally until the entire screen is filled. You could set it to "Stretch to fill screen" which will fill the screen but it will also distort the image.

Before installing the web drivers your monitor was not running its native resolution, you can see this by booting with the flag nv_disable=1. Most likely the monitor will be running in 1920x1080 and the image will look like it is fitting but really it is being stretched.

Here is that image with a 21:9 Photoshop crop tool, you will see the image inside the box matches your screenshots exactly

Screen Shot 2017-11-06 at 11.11.46 PM.png
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
45
Motherboard
GA-170X-UD5-TH - BIOS F22g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Here is the issue, well there really isn't an issue.

By default, desktop backgrounds are set to "Fill Screen" which means it will scale the image proportionally until the entire screen is filled. You could set it to "Stretch to fill screen" which will fill the screen but it will also distort the image.

Before installing the web drivers your monitor was not running its native resolution, you can see this by booting with the flag nv_disable=1. Most likely the monitor will be running in 1920x1080 and the image will look like it is fitting but really it is being stretched.

Here is that image with a 21:9 Photoshop crop tool, you will see the image inside the box matches your screenshots exactly


Thanks again for your input. It really makes a lot of sense now when you explain it in that way.

After reading your response, I decided to do more research and found that my monitor is not running its native resolution, because when I boot into clover and go to "about clover", my screen resolution is set to 1920X1080. I did find some instructions to try to change this to my native resolution, but no luck. I made some changes to my plist and I have CSM enabled in my BIOS, but when I install the CSMvideoDxe driver in clover, my resolution changes to 800x600 in clover.

Is there a way to change my monitor to its native resolution in clover before booting into High Sierra? If so, could you please advise me as such. I will include my plist for your reviewal so you may see the settings I currently have.

By the way, I also downloaded the original High Sierra wallpaper and sized it to 2560x1080, then set it for my desktop background and now I have the full picture. But I still feel that my monitor is not running at its native resolution.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
45
Motherboard
GA-170X-UD5-TH - BIOS F22g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Sorry Slim Jim for the previous post......made an error...haha


Thanks again for your input. It really makes a lot of sense now when you explain it in that way.

After reading your response, I decided to do more research and found that my monitor is not running its native resolution, because when I boot into clover and go to "about clover", my screen resolution is set to 1920X1080. I did find some instructions to try to change this to my native resolution, but no luck. I made some changes to my plist and I have CSM enabled in my BIOS, but when I install the CSMvideoDxe driver in clover, my resolution changes to 800x600 in clover.

Is there a way to change my monitor to its native resolution in clover before booting into High Sierra? If so, could you please advise me as such. I will include my plist for your reviewal so you may see the settings I currently have.

By the way, I also downloaded the original High Sierra wallpaper and sized it to 2560x1080, then set it for my desktop background and now I have the full picture. But I still feel that my monitor is not running at its native resolution.

Screen Shot 2017-11-07 at 3.06.07 PM.png
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    7.4 KB · Views: 168
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 22, 2016
Messages
283
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH (F22g)
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
HD 530
winky1060,
You should look into getting the utility called SwitchResX. I highly recommend it.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
45
Motherboard
GA-170X-UD5-TH - BIOS F22g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
winky1060,
You should look into getting the utility called SwitchResX. I highly recommend it.


Thanks for the input In-N-Out, but I tried this program with no better results.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2016
Messages
283
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH (F22g)
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Obviously, something else is going on there. Good luck.
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,254
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In Clover your are booting in VESA mode which 1920x1080 is perfectly normal for that. Once the drivers kick in your are running your native resolution which is normal. You can try setting the Clover to 2560x1080 but it will only work if your card has a VESA mode at that resolution.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top