Dell Inspiron 15R Notebook (Inspiron 5520)

Discussion in 'Laptop Compatibility' started by stakeout5, Jul 28, 2012.

  1. stakeout5

    stakeout5

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    10.8.2/Win 7
    CPU:
    Core i5 3rd Gen
    Graphics:
    Intel4000
    Jul 28, 2012 at 5:29 PM #1
    stakeout5

    stakeout5

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    10.8.2/Win 7
    CPU:
    Core i5 3rd Gen
    Graphics:
    Intel4000
    Can someone please tell me if this is a decent hackintosh (10.7.x-10.8) build?

    PROCESSOR
    3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i5-3210M processor (3M Cache, up to 3.1 GHz)

    SYSTEM
    Inspiron 15R Notebook (Inspiron 5520)

    OPERATING SYSTEM
    Windows® 7 Home Premium SP1, 64-Bit, English

    MEMORY
    8GB Shared Dual Channel DDR3 Memory

    HARD DRIVE
    1TB 5400 RPM SATA Hard Drive

    VIDEO CARD
    Intel® HD Graphics 4000

    INTERNAL OPTICAL DRIVE
    8X Tray Load CD/DVD Burner (Dual Layer DVD+/-R Drive)

    SYSTEM COLOR
    Switch by Design Studio - Moon Silver

    DISPLAY
    15.6" High Definition (720p) LED Display with Truelife

    BATTERY OPTIONS
    48 WHr 6-cell Lithium Ion Battery

    WIRELESS CARDS
    Intel® Centrino® Wireless 2230, 2x2 bgn + Bluetooth

    SOUND
    Dell Stereo Speakers with Waves MaxxAudio 3 audio processor

    NETWORK CARD
    Integrated 10/100 Network Card

    KEYBOARD
    Dell Chiclet Keyboard with Multi-touch Touchpad, English-Int'l
     
  2. Koalaman

    Koalaman

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 28, 2012 at 6:01 PM #2
    Koalaman

    Koalaman

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    When it says 4000 thousand graphics it means Intel 4000 Right? My laptop has Intel 4500HD and it's is not supported.
     
  3. stakeout5

    stakeout5

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    10.8.2/Win 7
    CPU:
    Core i5 3rd Gen
    Graphics:
    Intel4000
    Jul 28, 2012 at 7:29 PM #3
    stakeout5

    stakeout5

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    10.8.2/Win 7
    CPU:
    Core i5 3rd Gen
    Graphics:
    Intel4000
    Yes, thats what it means, Intel 4000, and when you say your card isnt supported, do you mean HD wise? or all in all you cant see the screen? And also, you think i would be able to get lion or mountain lion on that build? And would the wireless card work? Thanks.
     
  4. Koalaman

    Koalaman

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 29, 2012 at 1:25 AM #4
    Koalaman

    Koalaman

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yup ^ just making sure.
     
  5. stakeout5

    stakeout5

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    10.8.2/Win 7
    CPU:
    Core i5 3rd Gen
    Graphics:
    Intel4000
    Jul 29, 2012 at 1:36 AM #5
    stakeout5

    stakeout5

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    10.8.2/Win 7
    CPU:
    Core i5 3rd Gen
    Graphics:
    Intel4000
    Thanks so much the both of you, @ahmad90, do you have any idea what model of Atheros card supports bluetooth and wifi like the centrino? (im not able to get the inspiron with the Dell wireless, i currently have 2 hackintoshes, 1 on a pentium D :) and another in a laptop, core 2 duo. I could always pull the pci card from that, but i really dont want to. Any help would be great, thanks. (Again google told me nothing : / )

    *update, after further digging: Amazon.com: Atheros 802.11n WiFi & Bluetooth Wireless Mini PCI-E Adapter w/ Dual Antenna Kit: Electronics

    would ^^^ work???*
     
  6. stakeout5

    stakeout5

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    10.8.2/Win 7
    CPU:
    Core i5 3rd Gen
    Graphics:
    Intel4000
    Jul 29, 2012 at 3:19 PM #6
    stakeout5

    stakeout5

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    10.8.2/Win 7
    CPU:
    Core i5 3rd Gen
    Graphics:
    Intel4000
    Does your bluetooth work? I did a little looking around at some kexts, can't seem to find one that has working bluetooth for your card, just wireless. Thanks.
     
  7. stakeout5

    stakeout5

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    10.8.2/Win 7
    CPU:
    Core i5 3rd Gen
    Graphics:
    Intel4000
    Jul 30, 2012 at 7:36 AM #7
    stakeout5

    stakeout5

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    10.8.2/Win 7
    CPU:
    Core i5 3rd Gen
    Graphics:
    Intel4000
    Excellent, thanks so much. (Do you recommend your card? Does it receive good signal quality?)
     
  8. pdienstm

    pdienstm

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Aug 10, 2012 at 5:40 PM #8
    pdienstm

    pdienstm

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    I just bought the same system except with an i7 -3612QM. I'm wondering if there was any success with it. I don't have time to trailblaze, so if I'm not fairly sure it's going to work without much problem, I'll try it, if not, I'll forget about it.
     
  9. Bryan_D

    Bryan_D

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Dell Inspiron 5520
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 400
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 13, 2012 at 4:53 PM #9
    Bryan_D

    Bryan_D

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Dell Inspiron 5520
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 400
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Hey I just bought the same Inspiron 5520 only mines a 500GB HD
    I was wondering if you need to have a DSDT for and if the installation is a regular installation (not using any commands)
     
  10. Bryan_D

    Bryan_D

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Dell Inspiron 5520
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 400
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 16, 2012 at 1:59 PM #10
    Bryan_D

    Bryan_D

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Dell Inspiron 5520
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 400
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I tried installing mountain on Unibeast 1.5 but it gave me a kext issue... help please
     

Share This Page