5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. Classic
  3. iMac
  4. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Case mods... I bought a few extra older NUCs to try out some projects. Here is one I am currently working on. I have been 3D printing with PLA for many years, never tried any other filaments yet. The white/clear parts are 'natural' PLA. This is my first try with some nice transparent PTEG I found in appropriate Bondi and Ruby Red colors.

Smaller shell to test the structure:
test_01.jpg

Smaller shell just to look at the screen size (5.5 inches):
test_07.jpg

Speakers and grills with different sized holes:
test_10.jpg

Screen bezel and front cover (no logo yet):
test_12.jpg

First prints with PTEG in 'aqua' or blue/green, close to apple color:
test_13.jpg

Inner frame with NUC attached, just a test unit so far, many things are moving locations:
test_14.jpg

Tried the top shell overnight... 15+hr print. Some warping I need to figure out how to correct. Maybe print it in a different direction?
IMG_0609s.jpg

IMG_0603s.jpg

Some changes in printing temps and speeds, and I have reduced most of the warping (23 hour print job for each). I tried what I hoped was going to be "Ruby Red" but it looks more like the Apple "Strawberry". The shells are quite thick to enable more strength, so not as transparent as I hoped either. Maybe some sanding and polishing will enhance the transparency.

test_15.jpg

Some changes in printing temps and speeds, and I have reduced most of the warping (23 hour print job for each). I tried what I hoped was going to be "Ruby Red" but it looks more like the Apple "Strawberry". The shells are quite thick to enable more strength, so not as transparent as I hoped either. Maybe some sanding and polishing will enhance the transparency.

View attachment 556129
The red looks amazing!, really strong color.