Clover: manually add boot entry

Discussion in 'Bootloaders' started by capsjcum, Dec 2, 2016.

  1. capsjcum

    capsjcum

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Dec 2, 2016 at 6:09 PM #1
    capsjcum

    capsjcum

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Hi all,
    I'm trying to dual-boot MacOS and Linux Mint. Mint was the first successfully installed OS. Then I followed the procedure for installing Sierra with Clover as a bootloader. After a bit of trial and error (like I had to install both OS on the HD with the EFI partition) I managed to install both.
    The main problem, however, is that Clover doesn't recognize Linux Mint: is there a way to add the boot entry to Clover?
    The SSD HD where EFI partition is installed is /dev/sdb
    /dev/sdb1 EFI partition
    /dev/sdb2 SWAP
    /dev/sdb3 Linux Mint / (the /home is in another HDD)
    /dev/sdb4 MacOS

    Thank you in advance!
     
  2. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,308
    Motherboard:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Dec 2, 2016 at 8:19 PM #2
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,308
    Motherboard:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    When Clover screen shows you only icon for OS X, fix with a config.plist edit.
    Choose the OS X icon and boot to desktop. You will need to download Xcode or your favorite plist editor for this next step.
    Mount the EFI partition and navigate to the config.plist. Open the config.plist in Xcode and add this entry:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. capsjcum

    capsjcum

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Dec 3, 2016 at 1:36 PM #3
    capsjcum

    capsjcum

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Hi Going Bald, thank you for your reply.
    Actually, I checked with Clover Configurator (and also with an editor like Sublime, from Linux) and these settings were already there.
    After discovering this, I checked if Linux Mint was actually booted in EFI o Legacy Mode, and it was Legacy mode (I think this was an effect of the installation of Clover and macOS). So, using a Live USB I converted the Linux installation to a UEFI one, following this: http://askubuntu.com/questions/5094...-bios-install-to-efi-uefi-without-boot-repair
    So, now the system boot to Linux Mint but, of course, Clover doesn't start anymore.
    I think that now I have all the correct files in the /boot/efi folder, just to set Clover as the default bootloader. Any hints?
     
  4. capsjcum

    capsjcum

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Dec 3, 2016 at 6:43 PM #4
    capsjcum

    capsjcum

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    To add more context.
    This is the EFI partition seen by Linux.
    Code:
    # pwd
    /boot/efi/EFI
    This is the folders tree (with something removed):
    Code:
    ├── APPLE
    │   └── EXTENSIONS
    │       └── Firmware.scap
    ├── BOOT
    │   ├── BOOTIA32.efi
    │   └── BOOTX64.efi
    ├── CLOVER
    │   ├── ACPI
    │   │   ├── origin
    │   │   ├── patched
    │   │   └── WINDOWS
    │   ├── CLOVERIA32.efi
    │   ├── CLOVERX64.efi
    │   ├── config.plist
    │   ├── doc
    │   │   ├── bcfg.txt
    │   │   ├── boot1f32-install.sh
    │   │   ├── HowToFixDsdt.txt
    │   │   ├── HowToInstallOSX.txt
    │   │   └── UEFI boot with Clover.rtf
    │   ├── drivers32UEFI
    │   │   ├── FSInject-32.efi
    │   │   ├── OsxFatBinaryDrv-32.efi
    │   │   └── VBoxHfs-32.efi
    │   ├── drivers64UEFI
    │   │   ├── FSInject-64.efi
    │   │   ├── OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi
    │   │   ├── OsxFatBinaryDrv-64.efi
    │   │   └── VBoxHfs-64.efi
    │   ├── kexts
    │   │   ├── 10.10
    │   │   ├── 10.11
    │   │   ├── 10.6
    │   │   ├── 10.7
    │   │   ├── 10.8
    │   │   ├── 10.9
    │   │   └── Other
    │   ├── misc
    │   │   └── legacy_boot.log
    │   ├── OEM
    │   │   └── SystemProductName
    │   │       ├── ACPI
    │   │       │   ├── origin
    │   │       │   └── patched
    │   │       ├── config.plist
    │   │       ├── kexts
    │   │       │   ├── 10.6
    │   │       │   ├── 10.7
    │   │       │   ├── 10.8
    │   │       │   └── Other
    │   │       ├── ROM
    │   │       └── UEFI
    │   │           ├── ACPI
    │   │           │   ├── origin
    │   │           │   └── patched
    │   │           ├── config.plist
    │   │           └── kexts
    │   │               ├── 10.6
    │   │               ├── 10.7
    │   │               ├── 10.8
    │   │               └── Other
    │   ├── ROM
    │   ├── themes
    │   │   ├── embedded
    │   └── tools
    │       ├── bdmesg-32.efi
    │       ├── bdmesg.efi
    │       ├── Shell32.efi
    │       ├── Shell64.efi
    │       ├── Shell64U.efi
    │       └── Shell.inf
    ├── Clover_Install_Log.txt
    └── ubuntu
        └── grubx64.efi
     
  5. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,308
    Motherboard:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Dec 4, 2016 at 1:24 PM #5
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,308
    Motherboard:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    See pinned MultiBoot guide in the MultiBoot Forum.
     
  6. capsjcum

    capsjcum

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Dec 4, 2016 at 2:02 PM #6
    capsjcum

    capsjcum

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Hi Going Bald,
    thank you for your reply.
    Your suggestion put me on the right path.
    Actually, having Clover already installed it was just a matter of put Clover partition to boot at first from BIOS setup.
    In the boot priority Linux Mint partition was set at first, putting Clover partition on top did the trick.
    Actually it was as simple as this.

    Now I have to do all the configuration to make audio works, resolve video artifacts and so on... Matter for other threads :)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice