Contribute
Register

Cloning a clover installation

Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all,

Recently I installed Yosemite via the multibeast method and encountered so many problem with the audio and suddenly the the fact that I could not mount anymore FAT drives that I decided to reinstall everything using the clover guide.
I followed the guide to a Tee and everything was ok except for the audio. I managed to find the Toleda script and that fixed the problem (although I am losing the audio following a wake from sleep).
This installation has been installed on a 240GB SDD which is not the original one (the original is bigger and faster)
Now that I have my system fully up and running I want to clone it on the original SDD.
I have used carbon clone copy to clone the installation but I know that this is not going to make the clone disk bootable.
When using multibeast, I used to reinstalled the bootloader on the clone disk.
So I decided to follow the same path and following the post installation section of the clover guide.
I formatted the EFI partition on the clone drive as per the guide (FAT32), then used clover to install the bootloader + other options as per the guide, copy the config.plist from the working system to the EFI/CLOVER directory and fakesmc and the ethernet kexts in the 10.10 directory.
I have followed the same procedure that I followed to install the working system.
I shutdown the system, unplug the working SDD in order to leave only the clone one, modify the bios to boot from UEFI: OS HDD and restarted the system.
Yosemite seems to load ok but I don't have any network connection. And because I don't have any internet connection, I can not run toleda's script to fix the audio problem.

is there a specific method to follow to clone a clover installation? or is what I have done a valid method and if so why I don't have any network connection?
Especially when the same kexts are used and the same procedure.
Thanks
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
5,887
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse RX580 8G / Intel HD Graphics 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I followed the guide to a Tee and everything was ok except for the audio. I managed to find the Toleda script and that fixed the problem (although I am losing the audio following a wake from sleep).

GUIDE : http://www.tonymacx86.com/audio/151504-no-audio-after-sleep-wake-realtek-alc-applehda-fixes.html

This installation has been installed on a 240GB SDD which is not the original one (the original is bigger and faster)
Now that I have my system fully up and running I want to clone it on the original SDD.
I have used carbon clone copy to clone the installation but I know that this is not going to make the clone disk bootable.
When using multibeast, I used to reinstalled the bootloader on the clone disk.
So I decided to follow the same path and following the post installation section of the clover guide.
I formatted the EFI partition on the clone drive as per the guide (FAT32), then used clover to install the bootloader + other options as per the guide, copy the config.plist from the working system to the EFI/CLOVER directory and fakesmc and the ethernet kexts in the 10.10 directory.
I have followed the same procedure that I followed to install the working system.
I shutdown the system, unplug the working SDD in order to leave only the clone one, modify the bios to boot from UEFI: OS HDD and restarted the system.
Yosemite seems to load ok but I don't have any network connection. And because I don't have any internet connection, I can not run toleda's script to fix the audio problem.

You already have a patched AppleHDA.kext in place, so the script will fail.

Take the ethernet kext from /EFI/CLOVER/ketxs/10.10/ folder and install it with Kext Wizard.

Once it is installed, execute repair disk permissions and rebuild caches from Kext Wizard (Options available under Maintenance tab)


is there a specific method to follow to clone a clover installation? or is what I have done a valid method and if so why I don't have any network connection?
Especially when the same kexts are used and the same procedure.

Try to boot without caches and check the ethernet kext is loading or not.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
After cloning my clover installation, should I have an EFI partition on the clone drive?
Reading your explanation about using the kexts in /EFI/CLOVER/ketxs/10.10/
do you mean the directory on the working installation and then install them on the clone HDD?
or when the clover bootloader for the working installation is loaded, should I boot from the clone one (it seems to work) then install the kexts (which I presume will be installed on the clone HDD)?

My concern is that after cloning with CCC, the clone is not bootable so how do I make it bootable?
I mean should I follow the last section of the clover guide (post installation) then install the kexts via your suggested method?
thanks

 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
5,887
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse RX580 8G / Intel HD Graphics 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
After cloning my clover installation, should I have an EFI partition on the clone drive?
Reading your explanation about using the kexts in /EFI/CLOVER/ketxs/10.10/
do you mean the directory on the working installation and then install them on the clone HDD?
or when the clover bootloader for the working installation is loaded, should I boot from the clone one (it seems to work) then install the kexts (which I presume will be installed on the clone HDD)?

My concern is that after cloning with CCC, the clone is not bootable so how do I make it bootable?
I mean should I follow the last section of the clover guide (post installation) then install the kexts via your suggested method?
thanks


CCC will make a copy of your OS X Partition. You have to reinstall the boot loader after booting into clone with a bootable USB support. Simply we can say, you have to do the post installation tasks as it is how you done on your working OS X.

Note:- Connect only the HDD/SDD where having the clone while doing the boot loader installation.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte z170X-UD3
CPU
i76700k
Graphics
GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming 4 GB
....hello...i'm here for the same question, I made a full installation of sierra but not on the NMVe disk, I used a ssd sata disk , after that finally i have installed and saw the NMVe disk ,now i want to clone the ssd and i'm thinking , can I cloning the ssd onto the NMVe ssd disk .. start Clover installation on the cloned NMVe disk and copy the clover folder from ssd to NMVe ...can this operate ?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,232
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
....hello...i'm here for the same question, I made a full installation of sierra but not on the NMVe disk, I used a ssd sata disk , after that finally i have installed and saw the NMVe disk ,now i want to clone the ssd and i'm thinking , can I cloning the ssd onto the NMVe ssd disk .. start Clover installation on the cloned NMVe disk and copy the clover folder from ssd to NMVe ...can this operate ?
With the proviso that NVMe support is not native and you need an additional kext installed. Also, I do not think you will get support in Yosemite - you need El Capitan or Sierra.
See https://pikeralpha.wordpress.com/20...t-bin-patch-data/comment-page-1/#comment-5855
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte z170X-UD3
CPU
i76700k
Graphics
GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming 4 GB
With the proviso that NVMe support is not native and you need an additional kext installed. Also, I do not think you will get support in Yosemite - you need El Capitan or Sierra.
See https://pikeralpha.wordpress.com/20...t-bin-patch-data/comment-page-1/#comment-5855


sorry mate.. but in the search for solutions to the "cloning" problem, I have not noticed that I was happened in a treadh for Yosemyte.
In fact I have installed on my SSD Sierra and I did see NMVe disks, my question was about the disk-cloning possibilities, as I tried to explain.
sorry again but I move like an elephant :)
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,232
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
sorry mate.. but in the search for solutions to the "cloning" problem, I have not noticed that I was happened in a treadh for Yosemyte.
In fact I have installed on my SSD Sierra and I did see NMVe disks, my question was about the disk-cloning possibilities, as I tried to explain.
sorry again but I move like an elephant :)
OK, Sierra will work with the additional kext. Using the free versions of CCC or SD you will have to install Clover to the clone drive after you finish cloning to original to the NVMe, add the kext and edit the config.plist. Better to do this before you clone the drive so it is already there and will not cause problems with booting. Then just copy over the config.plist to the new drive.
 
Top