Contribute
Register

Can't boot Clover UEFI on Asus P8Z77-M Pro

Joined
Feb 15, 2012
Messages
85
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hey all,
I was hoping someone might have some pointers for me. I want to switch to Clover as my bootloader, but have hit a big bump.

I've formatted a USB stick with GPT, with a FAT partition, using Disk Utility, which also creates a 200 MB EFI partition on that stick. I used the Clover Installer to put Clover on this USB stick using the "for UEFI motherboards" option (and verified that it gets installed into the EFI partition).
The problem is that, after I've rebooted, pressed F8 to open the boot menu, and selected "UEFI: Generic USB drive", it just boots my MBR-installed Chameleon – there's no hint that anything Clover-related gets loaded at all. If I disable all legacy booting, so that "UEFI: Generic USB drive" is the only boot option, the computer just boots straight into the ASUS BIOS Setup.

Does anyone have an idea what might be going on? I'm using BIOS version 1805. Thanks!
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
261
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87M D3H
CPU
Intel Core I5 4670k
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
iBook
Mobile Phone
Android,
U can try with mbr formatted stick with those same files from your usb efi partition.

next u can use
2.JPG1.JPG
but u need to rename bootx64.efi to shellx64.efi
when u get into Clover GUI then u can use clover function to add clover as a boot menu easy way.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2012
Messages
85
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Edit: Found the issue! Apparently Safe boot was enabled in my BIOS, so that's why I could boot Windows but nothing else. Seems weird that it doesn't give a warning, but there you go I guess. Now to make clover actually boot my OS X install! :)

Thanks a lot for your suggestion! Still no luck, unfortunately. I get the same thing with the drive MBR-formatted (just goes through to default boot device or BIOS setup), and when trying to launch EFI Shell, I get a "Not found" message. That's weird, right? I went into the /EFI/BOOT directory of the drive and copied BOOTX64.efi and named the copy SHELLX64.efi instead. I also tried with a different drive and copied the files onto that, with the same result. I know I've once booted the Windows 8 installer from UEFI by mistake, so I guess it does work – not sure why this won't… :confused:

I'm going to try with a custom CloverGrower-built version of Clover and see if I have better luck with that – I'll report back!
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
261
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87M D3H
CPU
Intel Core I5 4670k
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
iBook
Mobile Phone
Android,
Edit: Found the issue! Apparently Safe boot was enabled in my BIOS, so that's why I could boot Windows but nothing else. Seems weird that it doesn't give a warning, but there you go I guess. Now to make clover actually boot my OS X install! :)

Thanks a lot for your suggestion! Still no luck, unfortunately. I get the same thing with the drive MBR-formatted (just goes through to default boot device or BIOS setup), and when trying to launch EFI Shell, I get a "Not found" message. That's weird, right? I went into the /EFI/BOOT directory of the drive and copied BOOTX64.efi and named the copy SHELLX64.efi instead. I also tried with a different drive and copied the files onto that, with the same result. I know I've once booted the Windows 8 installer from UEFI by mistake, so I guess it does work – not sure why this won't… :confused:

I'm going to try with a custom CloverGrower-built version of Clover and see if I have better luck with that – I'll report back!
Did u put SHELLX64.efi in root of usb stick ?
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2012
Messages
85
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Yeah, but like I said, it was all because of the Secure Boot setting (sorry, I typed it incorrectly when I said "Safe boot") – with that setting off, I could load the shell and also boot Clover normally through UEFI.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
58
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87M-D3H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I don't want to hijack your topic but I'm also suffering a problem with Clover and P877M- Pro. We keep Clover bootloader and our mobo nice in 1 topic.

Okay here I go;

I'm trying to get Clover working (again stopped trying 6 months ago --> was unstable) on my P8Z77-M Pro (PMPatched v.2003 UEFI) with EVGA GTX650 (Flashed to UEFI GOP) and Sandy Bridge i5 2500K. Attempts to compile clover with CloverGrowerPro ran fine but system wouldn't even boot. Today I download the version on Sourceforge.net (v.2061 link over here) . I've put these efi-extensions in the /CLOVER/drivers64UEFI; EmuVariableUefi-64.efi, FSInject-64.efi, HFSPlus-64.efi, NTFS-64.efi (assuming not needed; don't have Windows), OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi and OsxFatBinaryDrv-64.efi (HFSPlus-64.efi and NTFS-64.efi from this guide)

When I try to boot with CSM disabled Clover starts from USB in a ugly blue screen (sort out later on) when I select OSX-partition to boot it ends up with a kernelpanic. Something about ACPI....unsupported CPU. Here crappy quality image of KP but readable.

foto.jpg

I've put the DSDT (dumped while running Chameleon, patched PJALM-repo with MaciASL) in /ACPI/patched. I also tried with SSDT but same KP.

Any pointers?!
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
2,637
Motherboard
GA-X99M-Gaming 5
CPU
Intel Core i7-5930K
Graphics
MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Since Clover v.2000 the config.plist structure has changed. You can find the new info here: http://clover-wiki.zetam.org/Configuration

I have used the exact hardware config (almost, never used a SB processor) as yours for some time and only need FSInject-64.efi - OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi - OsxFatBinaeryDrv-64.efi - VBoxHfs-64.efi in the drivers64UEFI folder.

Your "starts from USB in a ugly blue screen" is a result of not having a theme specified in config.plist.

EDIT: Here's a simple config you might try to get started:

View attachment simple-config.plist
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2012
Messages
85
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
To get mine working in the end, I had to enabl EHCI Handoff in the BIOS, and tell Clover to drop the BGRT table(s)

Code:
<key>DropBGRT</key>
<string>Yes</string>
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
58
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87M-D3H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanx guys for your replies:clap:

I set EHCI Handoff to enable and add DropBGRT-pair to config.plist, I also removed NTFS-64.efi and EmuVariableUefi-64.efi. I get the same Kernelpanic! I Fixed graphic-theme loading; hadn't put any theme in theme-folder.

foto-1.JPG
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
    <key>Boot</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Timeout</key>
        <integer>5</integer>
        <key>Arguments</key>
        <string>npci=0x2000 darkwake=0 slide=0 -v</string>
        <key>DefaultVolume</key>
        <string>MacHDD</string>
        <key>Log</key>
        <false/>
        <key>Fast</key>
        <false/>
        <key>XMPDetection</key>
        <string>-1</string>
        <key>Legacy</key>
        <string>PBR</string>
    </dict>
    <key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Debug</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelCpu</key>
        <false/>
        <key>AsusAICPUPM</key>
        <false/>
        <key>AppleRTC</key>
        <true/>
        <key>KextsToPatch</key>
        <array>
            <dict>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>IOAHCIBlockStorage</string>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>QVBQTEUgU1NEAA==</data>                       
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>AAAAAAAAAAAAAA==</data>
            </dict>
        </array>
    </dict>
    <key>ACPI</key>
    <dict>
        <key>DSDT</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Debug</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Name</key>
            <string>DSDT.aml</string>
            <key>FixMask</key>
            <string>0xFFFF</string>
        </dict>
        <key>DropTables</key>
        <array>
            <dict>
                <key>Signature</key>
                <string>DMAR</string>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Signature</key>
                <string>SSDT</string>
                <key>TableId</key>
                <string>CpuPm</string>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Signature</key>
                <string>BGRT</string>
              </dict>
        </array>
        <key>SSDT</key>
        <dict>
            <key>DropOem</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Generate</key>
            <dict>
                <key>PStates</key>
                <true/>
                <key>CStates</key>
                <true/>
            </dict>
            <key>PLimitDict</key>
            <integer>0</integer>
            <key>UnderVoltStep</key>
            <integer>0</integer>
            <key>MinMultiplier</key>
            <integer>16</integer>
            <key>MaxMultiplier</key>
            <integer>42</integer>
            <key>PluginType</key>
            <integer>0</integer>
        </dict>
    </dict>
    <key>DisableDrivers</key>
    <array>
        <string>Nothing</string>
    </array>
    <key>RtVariables</key>
    <dict>
        <key>MountEFI</key>
        <true/>
        <key>LogLineCount</key>
        <integer>3000</integer>
        <key>LogEveryBoot</key>
        <string>10</string>
    </dict>
    <key>GUI</key>
    <dict>
        <key>TextOnly</key>
        <false/>
        <key>Language</key>
        <string>en:0</string>
        <key>Theme</key>
        <string>mrengles</string>
        <key>ScreenResolution</key>
        <string>1600x1200x768</string>
        <key>Timeout</key>
        <integer>5</integer>
        <key>DefaultBootVolume</key>
        <string>SnowHD</string>
        <key>DebugLog</key>
        <false/>
        <key>Mouse</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Enabled</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Speed</key>
            <integer>0</integer>
        </dict>
        <key>Hide</key>
        <array>
            <string>Windows</string>
            <string>\EFI\BOOT\BOOTX64.EFI</string>
        </array>
        <key>Scan</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Entries</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Tool</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Legacy</key>
            <true/>
        </dict>
    </dict>
    <key>Devices</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <false/>
        <key>Audio</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Inject</key>
            <string>No</string>
        </dict>
        <key>FakeID</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>IntelGFX</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>SATA</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>WIFI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>LAN</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>XHCI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
        </dict>
        <key>USB</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Inject</key>
            <true/>
            <key>FixOwnership</key>
            <true/>
            <key>AddClockID</key>
            <true/>
        </dict>
    </dict>
    <key>SystemParameters</key>
    <dict>
        <key>InjectSystemID</key>
        <true/>
        <key>LegacyBoot</key>
        <string>PBR</string>
    </dict>
    <key>Graphics</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Intel</key>
            <false/>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <false/>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>PatchVBios</key>
        <false/>
    </dict>
</dict>
</plist>
So message is
Code:
panic(cpu 0 caller 0xffffff8000065b8a1): "Unable to find driver for this platform: \"ACPI\".\n"@/sourceCache/xnu/xnu-2050.24.15/iokit/Kernel/IOPlatformExpert.cpp:1514
Okay I also add my config.plist. I hope the clover-wiki at clover-wiki.zetam.org is for Clover versions 2xxx.

EDIT: I googled the message and the only readable result is this one at macrumors. It's about a real iMac :banghead:

EDIT2: Also tried VBoxHfs-64.efi, instead of HFSPlus.efi, and same KP-message.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
58
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87M-D3H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Okay guys an update. @kduvernay your config.plist put me in the right direction. I got rid of the DSDT-section and add your DropOemSSDT. Is this still a good practice?!

Only sleep/wake doesn't work though hmmmmmm...... This is why I left Clover several months ago cause sleep/wake didn't work always.
 
Top