Contribute
Register

Buying advice for an i7 8700 + Geforce 1070 High Sierra build.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
CPU
i7 4790k
Graphics
R9 290x
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I want to preface this by saying I'm a newbie in the Hackintosh scene so I have very little experience with debugging, complicated installs, etc. I had a hackintosh in the past, but I tried to pick hardware with minimal setup that just worked. Ideally I'd like to do something similar now - figure out a build that will work well without any complicated setup, or if that isn't possible, find a build that someone has documented all the complicated steps in detail so it is dummy proof :)

The main requirements I'm shooting for are using an i7 8700 and a 1070 GPU. I don't plan to overclock so I don't think an 8700K is worth the extra money and heat sink, and the 1080 doesn't seem worth the extra $$ over a 1070. Ideally I'd like to get Thunderbolt and bluetooth working as well, but that isn't quite as necessary and I am okay with using extra hardware for that since it often seems easier.

Searching through the forums I found this post - https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...black-edition-high-sierra-thunderbolt.246074/ - and it looks like most things are working, but there are a few minor glitches.

I already have a 480GB SSD to use for the OS and I plan to shuck a WD easystore 8TB for the HDD for extra storage.

Aside from that, here is the rest of the hardware I'm starting out with from the post I linked, but I'm definitely open to changing any of it if it will make the install easier:

I suspect the bluetooth on the mobo won't work so I'll probably look for a USB bluetooth card after I get the install working, so recommendations there are also welcome.