Contribute
Register

Building A Powerful Dual-Boot Hackintosh/PC? Advice needed.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
ASUS Z270-AR
CPU
Intel i7 6700 Sky Lake Processor
Graphics
ROG STRIX-GTX 1070-8G Gaming
Mac
  1. iMac
Hello everyone,

I work professionally in video production, as a video editor, sound mixer, and composer. As a recent graduate I am starting to work on larger projects, including feature length films and promotional documentaries; I'm finding that my current PC laptop is obviously not fast enough or reliable enough for me to render and produce content quickly for clients. I prefer the Mac workflow and OS but I also have some projects that I'm currently editing on a PC. I've found that transferring projects from PC to Mac and vice versa tends to create problems with the Adobe software I'm using and I'd like to have the option to work in a PC or Mac environment by using Boot Camp or a similar utility to change the operating system on start up. This will mainly function for 4K video editing and extensive sound editing (but I'm also a gamer which is another reason I want to build a dual-boot machine).

It's important for me to note that I have never built a computer before, so I am hoping someone experienced will be kind enough to give me some guidance on selecting the parts that meet my needs. I have read the Buyer's Guide but is anyone here knowledgeable enough to give me some suggestions on the compatibility of the parts I'll need?

In summary, I'm hoping to build a very powerful machine that can greatly speed up workflow for my business, reduce my turn around time for clients, and help me take on more projects per year by eliminating slow render times and under powered performance.

Here's what I'm hoping to build:

-Dual Boot CustoMac capable of booting Mac OS Sierra and Windows 10
-Capable of editing 4K video or multi-camera 1080p video in real-time, without lag