Contribute
Register

Build Signoff

Status
Not open for further replies.
So, I've been lurking around the forums for buying advice and have finally settled mostly on what I'm planning to get. I'd like to get a once-over of advice/criticism from the people on these boards, as I have a few people helping me out but none who have experience building a Hackintosh. I'd appreciate any criticisms or "WTF were you thinking?" as I'm new to dealing intimately with hardware.

Here's the context of what i'll be using it for:

USE
- Design: I'm a web & print designer, so heavy use of photoshop, illustrator, and indesign with some light video editing and encoding.
- Development: I do web development, so I'll be running MAMP and Coda alot. I don't think I need a powerful machine for this, but thought I'd put it in just in case it might be relevant.
- Light Gaming: I'm not a huge gamer, but I want it to be able to run the upcoming FFXVI and StarCraft 2 at decent settings.
- I'll want it to be fairly upgradable.

COMPONENTS

CASE (I'll be turning off the ugly blue lights)
XCLIO Windtunnel Fully Black Finish 1.0 mm SECC Chassis ATX Full Tower Computer Case

PSU
Antec NEO ECO 520C 520W Continuous Power ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

MOBO
GIGABYTE GA-P55A-UD4P LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard w/ USB 3.0 & SATA 6 Gb/s

HARD DRIVE
SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

RAM
A-DATA Gaming Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model AX3U1600GB2G9-2G

OPTICAL DRIVE
ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM

CPU
Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor BX80605I5750

GFX CARD
EVGA 512-P3-N871-AR GeForce 9800 GTX+ 512MB 256-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

NEWEGG WISHLIST: http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/Publi ... er=9622009