Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Just did my first build and its running great! I just did an OC from 2.8 to 3.2 on an i5 760 and my Geek Bench and xbench scores went down by half! I did a slight OC before to 3.0 and it was doing fine then! My hack is still running great however and has been very stable.. Anybody know why my benchmarks went down though?

Yeah it seems to be a common symptom with many overclocks on Hackintoshes. Try going into BIOS and enabling EIST if you haven't already... seems it really helps people achieve higher scores, including me. Then bench it, and see what the result is.

I've done a bit of Windows overclocking, and it seems like those systems always went a lot smoother than this. This is my first time OC'ing the new Intel chips and it seems like a new ball game.

I have your same MB, but with an i3-560, and that exact problem occurred. Any overclock at all drops everything down by 50-100% in Xbench and Cinebench. Xbench went from 117 to 235 just by resetting stock speeds in the BIOS. All I'd done at that point was increase BCH to reach 3.72GHz.

I got a CPU score of 1.12 with an overclock to 3.72 (stock is 3.33), and with my Geil 1600 memory running at 1450. I tried 1333 on the memory, changing multipliers around to keep the memory below 1600, and the CPU under 3.7, with the same results in OSX. The stock 3.33/1333 settings (i3-560 runs memory at 1333) brought the CPU score up to 2.8 or so.

The system is rock solid (stability-wise) with the OC, and I've been using it for about three weeks, but any real system load at all causes stutters. For instance, in Garage Band, playback of a track causes high latency. Once I set everything back to Auto in the BIOS, the performance was smooth as silk. OpenGL scores went up by 50%, to an unimpressive 16fps (9500GT, so I wasn't expecting much anyway.)