Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87 | 4770k | EVGA GTX 780 Clover Yosemite OSX 10.10 Installation Guide

Let me preface this by saying I am very new to this stuff and I have this community (and ******) to thank for anything I've done with hackintoshes. This guide is not very extensive, but I wanted to put up some notes for whoever might be going through a similar installation. I initially got my system up and running using this thread:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/user-buil...aximus-vi-hero-4770k-gtx770-4gb-16bg-ram.html

I was previously running Mavericks 10.9.5, and the upgrade should have been very simple but there were a few hiccups that caused me to reinstall completely (almost 10 times before I finally figured it out, too). If you are already running Clover on Mavericks 10.9.X, just update your Clover installation for 10.10 and you can update through the app store.

My problem came after installing the update, as running Multibeast to get some of the drivers working again was making it impossible to boot the system. After many different attempts and combinations of bootflags and procedures (and Clover versions/installations), this is finally the way that I was able to get the system running.

Step 1 – Make sure your motherboard can boot in UEFI.
- Set the board to “Optimized Defaults” in the exit menu
- Disable Fast Boot
- Unplug all your HDDs (clover will not mess them up if you don’t touch them, but I like to disconnect them for peace of mind)
- Set the sata configuration to AHCI
- Disable CSM
- Set Secure Boot to Other OS rather than Windows
- That should be about it… if anything goes wrong just reset your motherboard to “Optimized Defaults” on the exit page and then you can load back to whatever profile you are using

Step 2 – Follow this guide on installing OSX Yosemite using Clover
http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-desktop-guides/144426-how-install-os-x-yosemite-using-clover.html