Graphics
Intel HD5000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi folks,

I have just setup my system using a Sapphire 5770 card using the iBoot ATI 5xxx method (Vervet) and it worked fine.

However I am waiting for delivery of the 27" Apple Cinema Display and as I had heard of problems using ACDs with non-Apple graphics cards I also ordered an Apple 5770 card.

This arrived today and I thought it would be a quick swap with the old card as they are both Radeon 5770 cards :)

BUT, now when the machine boots I see all the BIOS POST messages, then the Chameleon screen followed by the white screen with grey Apple logo, and then just when it should display the login screen the TV says "no signal" and goes black. I have tried all 3 outputs and it is the same for all of them.

I'm a complete novice at diagnosing hackintosh graphics issues, are there any wizards out there who can give me some suggestions on how to investigate this issue. I'll post progress back here if there is any.

I've heard of several different types of framebuffers, what are they exactly and how do you know which one to use with which card? Do I need to change something in my com.apple.Boot.plist perhaps?

Thanks all for any help, I would really like to get this card working.

Charlie

Edited to add the info from System Profiler:

ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series:

Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: Slot-1
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 1024 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x68b8
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-B7710C-176
EFI Driver Version: 01.00.318
Displays:
SONY TV:
Resolution: 1920 x 1080 @ 50 Hz
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported
Television: Yes
Display Connector:

SOLVED: Apple ATI Radeon 5770

I changed the framebuffer from "Vervet" to "Hoolock" and it now works great, with QE/CI.

Find /System/Library/Extensions/ATY_Init.kext
Show Package Contents...