Contribute
Register

Any non-Gigabyte motherboard recommendations?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD3 Rev 1.0
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
Radeon RX Vega 64
I've been using a Z68 Gigabyte motherboard for a few months that just took a dump. This thing had a few oddball issues right out of the box (using the reset button would make it power up/shut down three times before it booted, wouldn't recognize my USB -> ADB adapter until the OS loaded, no issues with that anywhere else), but now it won't get past the splash screen. It powers up for maybe 3 seconds, powers down, powers up for 15-20 seconds, might show the splash screen, powers down. I've done everything I can think of and nothing works. CMOS reset, pull the battery, strip it down to minimums, different PSU, swap the RAM around...no good. It's toast.

I have to be prepared for the worst, which means crappy service. Maybe it won't come to that, but it's the end of the quarter and I have work that needs to get done quickly. I can't afford downtime like this. I may have to outright buy another board and have it overnighted. I might as well put a fresh copy of Lion on it while I'm at it.

It seems that Gigabyte is a huge favorite around here, but I'm not too keen on getting another Gigabyte motherboard at this point. I'm eyeballing Asus and MSI, perhaps ASRock as it seems their non-cheapie boards aren't bad. I've heard that Asus SB boards had some issues with power management or something to that effect. I'll be doing some digging, but I don't have much time for that today, so I'm hoping I could get some advice from folks here. I don't need anything fancy, but not cheap, either. Full ATX, good OC'ing capabilities, Firewire. One with a Firewire chipset that doesn't take a dump after sleep would be great.