Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Asus H170 Pro Gaming
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 580
Alright, so complete disclosure – this is my first time doing this but I’ve managed to successfully install macOS High Sierra on my PC so I thought I’d make a post that highlighted the biggest issues I faced in hopes that it might help someone else down the line.

First of all, a big thank you to @nunziantimo and @kristof.petho for their guides. I have near identical hardware with @nunziantimo so if you do too, I highly recommend you check out his guide first. In fact, this guide should be seen as an extension to his guide that fills in some gaps I found while installing High Sierra on my computer.

CREATING THE BOOTABLE DRIVE

To create a bootable drive, read through the following instructions first to get an overview but note that I did not follow every single step exactly. I will highlight some key differences in the following steps.

Official HS USB Guide: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...h-sierra-public-beta-installation-usb.225520/

Specifically, I followed @nunziantimo’s guide and his screenshots (they’re in Italian but you can pretty easily match up which things you need to select) and selected the options he had when setting up Clover.

After your done installing clover on the USB, download @nunziantimo’s kext files and add then to your usb’s kext folder (refer to the official HS USB Guide linked above). Also copy and paste his config.plist file. I was able to blindly do so since we have almost identical hardware. Don’t forget to copy apfs.efi per the official HS USB Guide.

You’re done after this step!

INSTALLING HIGH SIERRA ON PC

Do NOT plug your monitor into the motherboard if you are using discrete graphics! The installation will not work!! (This is where I got stuck on)

Plug your USB into your PC and then set up your BIOS as per the following settings:

First load all optimal settings!