i7-3930K
Graphics
GTX 570
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi Guys,

I am new here and might need your help already. Not bad for a 1st post here. :oops: For professional purposes I need to buildup a very fast Hackintosh. However I am a newbi if it comes to a Hackintosh. So it might not be a good idea to start with this kind of system. But, I do not want to buy a proven (slower) system just to get practice and buy the desired system later on once it is simpler to install. So what should I do? Can I rely on your help here? I am using a Mac for a year now and I felt in love with OSX. :clap: I also run a Windows 7 VM using Parallels 7. :crazy:

Here is the system I plan to use.
Asustek P9X79 Pro :clap:
Intel Core i7-3930K :headbang:
XFX Radeon HD 6870 1GB :?

I would rather use a Radeon HD 6970 2GB. But I do not want to create even more problems. :eek: However I am a developer (Hardware) and have Mountain Lion here as well. I read that ML is supporting Radeon HD 6970 OOB. And discussions about it are not permitted here. So I have to stick to Lion and the Radeon HD 6870 I guess. :banghead:

So do you think I can manage the problems with your help? Or is to difficult for a newbi to get this type of system running? :oops:

Thanks in advance and greets from Germany,

Hendrik

The 6970 is running on Mountain Lion on NORMAL Mac Pro's... NOT Hackintoshes. And Apple has been known to take OUT support for cards on the final version of their OS's.

I would go with a Z68 board and a 2600k (or wait for Ivy Bridge desktop chips April 28th). You'll spend about half the cost and get just about the same performance. A 2600k is blazingly fast already. My uncle, who is an audio producer, uses a 2600k hackintosh and he said it is faster than the current gen Mac Pro decked out... so it is enough power.

@ Gordo74: Thank you for your advice and your input about the Gfx card. If nothing helps I have to follow this path.