Contribute
Register

A good 2nd hdd caddy for HP ProBook 4730s

Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
48
Motherboard
HP Probook 4730s - F.61 - Clover UEFI
CPU
I5-2450M/HM65
Graphics
HD 3000, HD 6490M
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey all

I've noticed some people here have a HP ProBook 4730s and have bought a 2nd hdd caddy for it, but i couldn't find info on where you have bought it from and whether they're good or not.

Any hints on this? Where have you bought yours and does it fit well etc?

Cheers
M
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2013
Messages
2
Motherboard
HP 4540s - B8Z31PA#ACJ
CPU
i5 3210m
Graphics
Intel HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey, I'm sorry I'm not here to answer your question, but rather to ask whether hackintosh supports the graphics card in your probook 4530 (7470).
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
48
Motherboard
HP Probook 4730s - F.61 - Clover UEFI
CPU
I5-2450M/HM65
Graphics
HD 3000, HD 6490M
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
nosx86, i've turned it off using the bios setting discreet graphics (to potentially save battery power). I recall it wasn't necessary for me though, the os did work whether it was on or off.

No one has info on a 2nd hdd caddy for 4730s?
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
326
Motherboard
Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
i7 2600k
Graphics
Radeon 6870 1GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
This one worked great for me with a ProBook 4530s: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005L94EAM

Make sure you get one that specifically lists HP ProBook compatible, or that you know has an internal selector switch for turning off the diagnostic mode. (The one I ordered has the switch, which needs to be set toward the SATA connector) If a caddy is in the diagnostic mode, it causes sleep and shut down problems in Windows. Caddies without the switch that are in diagnostic mode by default have to be modified (the right connector pin on the PCB cut) to work with HP laptops.

Mine works great, I couldn't be happier with it. I boot 10.8.3 from an SSD in the caddy and my original 500GB hard drive is a backup of OSX and Windows.

To fit properly and so you can secure it, you'll need to take the small rear bracket off the DVD drive (where the drive is held in place with a screw) and attach the bracket to the same location on the drive caddy. Also, carefully remove the bezel off the DVD drive tray (You may have to open the tray by pushing a needle in the small release hole) and attach the bezel to the drive caddy. Then your laptop will look the same, without a weird break in the contour where the drive bay is.

For the discarded optical drive, I recommend this: http://www.amazon.com/USB2-0-External-Enclosure-Connetor-Notebook/dp/B002IRY3ME

Just attach the included bezel to the drive tray (while the drive is open) and you can keep the use of your DVD drive as an external.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
48
Motherboard
HP Probook 4730s - F.61 - Clover UEFI
CPU
I5-2450M/HM65
Graphics
HD 3000, HD 6490M
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Going Bald, thanks for the links! I decided to go with the hddcaddy.com one cause it seemed the most reliable to me.
Zaptoons, thanks a lot for the links and comprehensive information!

-m
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
159
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4730s
CPU
2,2 GHz Intel Core i3
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Urgently need your help! I bought this:
sku_121002_5.jpg
optibay for my ProBook 4730s. The problem is that the two screws from the DVD drive are not suitable for optibay, showed in the picture. The screws just fall in the holes in the optibay instead of there to be screwed. Maybe I should have bought a more expensive optibay? Like this for example: http://hddcaddy.com/en/hp-hdd-caddy/308-hp-probook-4710s-4730s-4740s-hdd-caddy.html

PS What do you advise me to do?:think:
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,809
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Urgently need your help! I bought this:
View attachment 185436
optibay for my ProBook 4730s. The problem is that the two screws from the DVD drive are not suitable for optibay, showed in the picture. The screws just fall in the holes in the optibay instead of there to be screwed. Maybe I should have bought a more expensive optibay? Like this for example: [Amazon-uk]http://hddcaddy.com/en/hp-hdd-caddy/308-hp-probook-4710s-4730s-4740s-hdd-caddy.html[/Amazon-uk]

PS What do you advise me to do?:think:

Im using a VicTsing one which works perfectly fine. Maybe others are different. [Amazon-uk]http://www.amazon.co.uk/VicTsing-12-7mm-Universal-DVD-ROM-Optical/dp/B00LIQOOB6/[/Amazon-uk]
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
159
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4730s
CPU
2,2 GHz Intel Core i3
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Im using a VicTsing one which works perfectly fine. Maybe others are different. [Amazon-uk]http://www.amazon.co.uk/VicTsing-12-7mm-Universal-DVD-ROM-Optical/dp/B00LIQOOB6/[/Amazon-uk]
I have exact same optibay! The problem described above:banghead:
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,809
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have exact same optibay! The problem described above:banghead:

You need to use the existing bracket from the optical drive for the hard drive bay also screws. But you say screws don't fit?
 
Top