Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi folks,

I've seen a few posts asking for advice on getting wi-fi to work on Lion, so I thought I'd tell you about my recent experience getting a £4 USB wi-fi dongle working on 10.7.2 using RaLink. It works, it works immediately on startup, after waking from sleep and (optionally) it even looks good!

I don't doubt that best way to get wi-fi up and running is to do it 'natively' using the method shown in the sticky thread at the top of the forum (How To: Build your own "Real" Airport Card), but my method worked for me and it's a tenth of the price. It's far from native, but it looks like Airport at least!

I'm not a complete noob to Hackintoshing (built a Dell mini 10v on 10.6.7 several months ago and love it), but if there are any gurus out there who can tell me if I've done something silly here - do let me know.

I have no reason to think you couldn't do this straight on 10.7.2, but I started with a clean 10.7 Hackintosh. So, if any of you are interested, read on…

My system information
CPU: Intel Core i3-2105 with Intel HD 3000 Graphics
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H67N-USB3-B3 (F7 Bios)
RAM: CORSAIR 4GB (1 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3
Lion 10.7, installed using UniBeast method, followed by Multibeast using DSDT from TonyMac's DSDTdatabase

Method
1. Start with a 10.7 Hackintosh and a working wi-fi router

2. Buy RaLink-compatible USB wifi dongle and plug it in?I bought this one (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/WIRELESS-...&otn=3&po=LVI&ps=63&clkid=3932069093905666656)

3. I suppose you should backup all data or clone your HD or whatever at this point. I was using a fresh install of 10.7 so I didn't bother – if it screwed up my system I'd just re-install. You should do what you feel is right at this point!

4. Get Alfa AWUS036 NH Mac OSX.zip and install it
a. ?Assuming you have no Net access yet, you'll need to do this on another PC and transfer over on a USB stick!?