Contribute
Register

No signal to monitor after 10.6.2 patched kernel.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Hackintosh
CPU
Intel i5
Graphics
ATI 6770
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
EDIT: I got it to work! Please see post below.

Hello all,

I really need some help while I still have a shred of sanity left. I'm very new to all this, so please forgive me if I missed anything obvious.

I am able to install in safe mode, (-x), using tonymac's iboot with easybeast as discussed here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=401
However, after updating to the patched vesion of 10.6.2 the machine starts to boot and shortly after I see a message about the SMC something or other, the computer stops sending output to the monitor. I've tried -x, -pci1, -pci0, -pci2, etc. DVI, VGA, DVI - VGA adapter. However, it does the same thing. I can boot into single user mode only with a cd that tonymac made based on netkas latest efi.

Here are my specs:
P55-UD3L v.1 Bios F5
ATI HD4670 by Sapphire
4GB Corsair XMS3
Core i5

Here are the steps I took to install:
  • Booted the retail CD with TonyMac's iBoot w/Mulitbeast & EasyBeast (safe mode only)[/*:m:1d2pp8f8]
  • Installed OSX[/*:m:1d2pp8f8]
  • Used easybeast to patch 10.6.0 kernel[/*:m:1d2pp8f8]
  • Reset[/*:m:1d2pp8f8]
  • Installed the Apple combo update for 10.6.2[/*:m:1d2pp8f8]
  • Used easybeast to patch the 10.6.2 kernel[/*:m:1d2pp8f8]
  • Used Multibeast to choose PC-EFI 5.6 booter [/*:m:1d2pp8f8]
  • Installed DSDT for P55-UD3L-F3[/*:m:1d2pp8f8]
  • Reset[/*:m:1d2pp8f8]

Now I see the symptoms above. I know the system is not locked up because I see drive activity and the caps-lock lights respond to to the caps-lock key presses.

Thanks everyone in advance for any help you can offer.

If you have a Core i5 750, you will not need to use a kernel from MultiBeast upon 10.6.2, in fact, you may not even need to run EasyBeast 10.6.2 at all if you've already run EasyBeast 10.6.