CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
First of all, this is my first post here and I want to say thanks for this forum and all the hard work of the participants. I purchased an HP 4530s XU015UT (Core i3, Atheros WiFi, 8GB, etc.) and used the guides to install Mac OS X 10.7.3 and without the guides and information here I couldn't have accomplished that (before this, I have zero experience with Mac). My desire is to play around with iOS development, so I needed something to run XCODE. I got my laptop online (tigerdirect) as a refurb for $404. It was supposed to come with 4GB RAM, but somehow mine came with 8GB by mistake... Bonus!

Of course, this laptop comes with a 500GB hard drive, but I didn't even turn it on using the hard drive, instead swapping the hard drive out immediately for a Crucial M4 256GB SSD. It works great and I have a dual-boot setup between OSX and Win7.

Now here is the word of warning, as I'm sure there are several others running similar systems on SSD. Mac OS X "Disk Utility" does NOT align partitions on SSDs correctly. Each partition should be aligned on a 4K (8 sector) boundary. Having partitions not aligned causes unnecessary erase cycles to be done on the flash modules, impacting performance and lifetime of the SSD.

I would suggest that everyone using SSD take a look at their partition alignment. In Win7, you use the 'msinfo32' utility (look at Components -> Storage -> Disks, and check starting offset of each partition... the starting offset should be divisible by 4096... I prefer mine divisible by 1MB, or 1024x1024). I was able to get all partitions aligned except the 200MB EFI partition (I think this is OK, as there isn't likely to be very many writes to that partition, considering it is used only during boot). You can also check (and fix) partition alignment using an Ubuntu Live CD, as Gparted is included.