Contribute
Register

The everything works Asus Z390-I Gaming * i7-8700K * Sapphire RX580 Pulse build

Joined
Mar 17, 2019
Messages
61
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z390 - E
CPU
i3 8100
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I remember seeing this and can't remember how I fixed it. I think I had to switch from using a DP to DVI adapter to a HDMI cable.
Tried to hackintosh using this guide few weeks ago and stopped at display off before any installation screen......exhausted trying to attempt hackintosh......now decided to give another try again......
Same screen off after verbose.....RGB in cpu is still glowing though.....

Any Fixes for me...... I Don't want to quit hackintoshing my first build.......
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
282
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Tried to hackintosh using this guide few weeks ago and stopped at display off before any installation screen......exhausted trying to attempt hackintosh......now decided to give another try again......
Same screen off after verbose.....RGB in cpu is still glowing though.....

Any Fixes for me...... I Don't want to quit hackintoshing my first build.......
What HDD or SSD are you trying to install too? Is it a Samsung 970 EVO Plus? Lots of people have been hung up by that choice but usually you don't end up with just a blank screen. @RobertCalifornia has the same board and got it working.

What type of display cables are you using? HDMI can cause issues and unplugging and plugging the display cable back in can restore the picture.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 24, 2014
Messages
19
Motherboard
Aorus Xtreme Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
Other
This is the description of the card from the link in the parts section of the guide, notice the M.2 in the description. I'm reading your board specifications more closely and it says there is an M2 slot for the CNVi Intel card. So are you saying you have swapped out the Intel card for the DW1560 already but can't get it to work? Sorry but your post is a little unclear. On the ASUS board you swap out the card, attach the antenna, and then make sure you have the all the kexts to support it in place. See link below for more info.
Sorry for the late answer, was on vacation. To answer your Question right away: I didn't. I read many posts of many users on different Forums, that it won't work, so I didn't even bother, to be honest. Reading #1 post of this thread caught my curiosity and got my hopes up, however, so I figured it wouldn't hurt to ask. So if you're saying that it would/has to work with my board I'll gladly try out and report back (but that would be next week or so, back home and booked already)
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
Messages
61
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z390 - E
CPU
i3 8100
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes but patch was supposed to fix that and you can't easily roll back. I attached the last EFI with patches but am not optimistic, it appears the RTC issue is in another part of your BIOS than ours.

If you are up to it, try to roll back to 0702 using this heavily edited guide by RAffleKol from the Asus site:

How to roll back Bios using the DOS tool AFUDOS.exe when blocked by EZ Flash:

I AM NOT RESPONSABLE IN ANYWAY IF THIS DAMAGES YOUR MOTHERBOARD THIS IS FOR PEOPLE THAT DONT HAVE FLASHBACK AND HAVE NO OTHER WAY TO ROLL BACK THEIR BIOS

Although it may look complicated, the process is straightforward and only a few steps.

First we need to confirm the Bios is from American Megatrends:
  1. In Windows 10 or 8.1 right-click the Start button and choose Run.
  2. In the Run window or search box, type msinfo32 and push enter.
  3. Your System info should pop up. Verify that you have an American Megatrends Bios
  4. If yes proceed, if not stop, this guide will not work.
Files included in attachment:
  1. Rufus Format
  2. AFUDOS.exe (used to flash your bios)
  3. Files in "Copy to USB" folder
  4. UEFITool.exe (converts .CAP files to .ROM)
File you need to download:
  1. Version 0702 Bios for Z390-E from Asus web site
Settings:
  1. CSM must be enabled for this to work. You can disable after downgrade is complete
  2. Rename your .rom file bios.rom or it won't work.
If all this works and you can boot, dump the DSDT again so we can compare to latest version. If you are lucky, @pupin can help us make a patch.
Used this method and flashed BIOS back to first one.... 0224...08/14/2018.... but still no luck.....

I'm using Kingston 240Gb 2.5 inch SSD...... without any graphics card.... using HDMI cable on motherboard..... tried unplugging and plugging again but no HDMI signal......
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
282
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Used this method and flashed BIOS back to first one.... 0224...08/14/2018.... but still no luck.....

I'm using Kingston 240Gb 2.5 inch SSD...... without any graphics card.... using HDMI cable on motherboard..... tried unplugging and plugging again but no HDMI signal......
Maybe a different monitor? There are several guides for your board around the Internet, and my suggestion is to research them and pick one. The one I linked below talks about a Dell monitor causing the black screen.

 
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
Messages
61
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z390 - E
CPU
i3 8100
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Maybe a different monitor? There are several guides for your board around the Internet, and my suggestion is to research them and pick one. The one I linked below talks about a Dell monitor causing the black screen.


My monitor is ASUS VZ229H.....I'll try with another monitors then.....
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
282
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
My monitor is asus vz229h.....I'll try with another monitors then.....
Display Port
Sorry for the late answer; I was on vacation. To answer your question right away: I didn't. I read many posts of many users on different Forums, and that it won't work. So I didn't even bother, to be honest. Reading #1 post of this thread caught my curiosity and got my hopes up, however. So I figured it wouldn't hurt to ask. So if you're saying that it would/has to work with my board I'll gladly try out and report back (but that would be next week or so, back home and booked already)
I say do your research on the components on your board and go from there...it seems it has an available M.2 slot. But you also have PCIe expansion slots you can take advantage of as well. You could install a Fenvi Broadcom PCIe card a bunch of folks seem to love. I bought a MacBook Airport card on eBay, and an adapter for it on Amazon which I recommenced. No drivers needed although you might need to disable your Intel card to make it work without conflict.

Here’s the adapter I bought:

 
Joined
Mar 24, 2014
Messages
19
Motherboard
Aorus Xtreme Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
Other
You could install a Fenvi Broadcom PCIe card a bunch of folks seem to love.
Using BCM94331CD with Adapter already. But, while having troubles installing the other BCM94360CD (won't boot, works flawlessly in my x58 System, though), I figured dumping the useless Intel card wouldn't hurt at all (but on the pictures of the Intel and Dell Cards I saw they have different Pins). But just to be safe DW1830 should work as well, shouldn't it?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
282
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Using BCM94331CD with Adapter already, but while having troubles installing the other BCM94360CD (won't boot, works flawlessly in my x58 System, though) I figured dumping the useless Intel card would'nt hurt at all (but on the pictures of the Intel and Dell Cards I saw they have different Pins). But just to be safe DW1830 should work as well, should'nt it?
Looks like it, yes. This list of adapters is from the Broadcom thread by Toleda which seems exhaustive.

Broadcom WiFi + BT (2 antennas, except as noted)
  • PCIe/x1: BCM94360CD - native WiFi/ac and BT4LE (3 antennas)
  • PCIe/x1: BCM94331CD - native WiFi and BT4LE
  • M.2: BCM943602BAED/DW1830 - native WiFi/ac and BT4LE (3 antennas)
    • Laptop issues/solutions, see jaymonkey/Post #138
  • M.2: BCM94360CSAX - native WiFi/ac and BT4LE (3 antennas)
  • M.2: BCM94360CS2 - native WiFi/ac and BT4LE
  • M.2: BCM94352Z/AzureWave AW-CE162NF/DW1560 - supports WiFi/ac and BT4LE
  • M.2: BCM94350ZAE/DW1820A - native WiFi/ac and BT4LE
  • Half mini: BCM94360HMB/AzureWave AW-CB160H - native WiFi/ac and BT4LE (3 antennas)
  • Half mini: BCM94352 HMB/AzureWave AW-CE123H - supports WiFi/ac and BT4LE

 
Joined
Mar 24, 2014
Messages
19
Motherboard
Aorus Xtreme Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
Other
Looks like it, yes. This list of adapters is from the Broadcom thread by Toleda which seems exhaustive.
Neat list, though I'm sure I've seen it before :lol:

Just one last (dumb) question: there'd be no harm in leaving one antenna cable unplugged (besides poorer signal strength maybe), am I right?
 
Top