Contribute
Register

[Solved] Error during installation. Problem with SSD?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Z97X-UD3H
CPU
i5-4690
Graphics
GTX 760
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Summary: Mojave fails to install on an SSD, that was previously used for El Capitan. After erasing, Clover is still present on the disk, and Mac OSX shows up as a boot device. Could this be causing the installation problem, and if so; how do I fully clean this disk and prepare it for a fresh installation.

Hi there! I have run into problems while installing Mojave on my desktop. I already spent many hours trying to solve this problem, without success. Hopefully it is something really simple and someone from the forum can help.

-I am trying to install Mojave on a system that I have been using El Capitan on for three years already.
-I bought a new SSD from Samsung. To avoid any mistakes, I first used SuperDuper to clone my working El Capitan installation to this new drive. Then I changed the system definition there from MacPro 3,1 to iMac 14,2 so I could download Mojave and prepare the USB with UniBeast.
-When that was done I disconnected the old working El Capitan drive, all other harddrives, and I also disconnected the GFX 760 videocard (will install it again later when NVIDA releases drivers). My other configuration is in my profile and signature.
-Following instructions from the installation guide, I erased this new drive naming it Mojave and formatted it to OSX Extended (journaled).
-Installation first seems to proceed normally, but the computer restarts very quickly (<1 minute). Then I get the following error message (image 1).

I tried to do it again like three times, but every time the same error message. Could there be something wrong with my drive?