Quick Fix: 200/X299/300 Series Kaby Lake Audio, Onboard and/or HD 6x0 HDMI

Discussion in 'Audio' started by toleda, May 10, 2017.

  1. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,175
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 6, 2017 at 11:32 PM #81
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,175
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No problem solving on this thread, see Post #1, Not working ...
    Post to thread noted.
     
  2. brucehvn

    brucehvn

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H270N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i5-7400 (KabyLake)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD630
    Oct 9, 2017 at 7:50 AM #82
    brucehvn

    brucehvn

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H270N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i5-7400 (KabyLake)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD630
    So, quick question. It looks like steps 3A, 3B, and 3C are all doing the same thing as step 2, except that in step 2, we are virtually patching AppleHDA.kext at load time using Clover, but in steps 3x, we are actually patching the kext itself? But the end result is the same, we are changing 0xa170 to 0xa2f0? If that's the case, then why would sometimes step 3 work and not step 2?
     
  3. TheOfficialGypsy

    TheOfficialGypsy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-UD5-TH Bios F22a, Asus X299 Prime Deluxe Bios 0802
    CPU:
    i7 6700K, i9 7900X
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix OC 1080 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 9, 2017 at 1:32 PM #83
    TheOfficialGypsy

    TheOfficialGypsy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-UD5-TH Bios F22a, Asus X299 Prime Deluxe Bios 0802
    CPU:
    i7 6700K, i9 7900X
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix OC 1080 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    is audio working on the X299 platform? I have tried but no luck even with the CAVS to HDEF patch and your guide
     
  4. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,175
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 9, 2017 at 2:37 PM #84
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,175
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No. The binary image of the AppleHDA executable is included in kernel cache. Clover patches (2) kernel cache prior to boot.
    Yes.
    2 doesn't work when kernel cache is not current such as after a system update
    3 doesn't work if a kext is patched and kernel cache is not rebuilt.
    The suggestion is to rebuild kernel cache after any system file change prior to restart.
     
    brucehvn likes this.
  5. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,175
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 9, 2017 at 2:38 PM #85
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,175
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes, requires both the CAVS fix and the Post #1 controller fix.
    See Post #1, Not working ...
     
  6. sange

    sange

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    CPU:
    i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 9, 2017 at 11:22 PM #86
    sange

    sange

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    CPU:
    i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    thanks for this thread (post #1)! it worked for my Prime z270-a.
    Initially I installed with Multibeast: Drivers>Audio: ALC1220A + 100 / 200 Series Audio. Audio was not working, but installing (with Kext Wizard) FakePCIID.kext + FakePCIID_Intel_HDMI_Audio.kext worked out.
    tested outputs: fp, digital onboard, analog (green)
     
  7. sopadesicomoro

    sopadesicomoro

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97M-D3H
    CPU:
    i7-4790 Hashwell
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Oct 10, 2017 at 6:13 PM #87
    sopadesicomoro

    sopadesicomoro

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97M-D3H
    CPU:
    i7-4790 Hashwell
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Some n00b questions to make sure I am not doing anything wrong.

    1. Where do you patch the SkyLake Audio Controller on CLOVER?

    2. The procedure to uninstall kexts is going to Library/Extensions and throwing them into the trashcan?

    3. Is there a method to clean all the audio codecs that could be overlapping?

    I got the audio working once but now that I tried to fix a glitch I broke it.
     
  8. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,175
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 10, 2017 at 6:46 PM #88
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,175
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    See Post #1
    Not recommended, never trash system files. Run the installer to restore.
    Not possible.
     
  9. sopadesicomoro

    sopadesicomoro

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97M-D3H
    CPU:
    i7-4790 Hashwell
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Oct 10, 2017 at 6:54 PM #89
    sopadesicomoro

    sopadesicomoro

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97M-D3H
    CPU:
    i7-4790 Hashwell
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Thanks Toleda. So I just probably run the installer again. That is from the bootable USB?
     
  10. sopadesicomoro

    sopadesicomoro

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97M-D3H
    CPU:
    i7-4790 Hashwell
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Oct 11, 2017 at 3:55 AM #90
    sopadesicomoro

    sopadesicomoro

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97M-D3H
    CPU:
    i7-4790 Hashwell
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    What does it means with 3x on the find into the kext? That i have to find it 3 times and replace it 3 times?
     

Share This Page