Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi everyone,

First, thanks for the great forum with thoughtful and complete discussions and tutorials. I'm very new to the hackintosh world, so I'm trying to get up to speed.

I currently have an Abit IP35-Pro, bought a few years ago for my Q6600 (back when it was new...sigh...). I'm using 8GB of (DDR2 800) RAM and an MSI 9600 GT 512 and have been running Win7 in a pretty vanilla way. I'm using a 128 GB Raptor as my boot drive and have 3x 640 GB storage drives.

My main use is Photoshop/Lightroom and I want to switch over to OSX 10.6.4. From what I've read, the IP35-Pro is a big pain. And using the methods here, I get a KP right away. So I think I'm going to need to replace my board, but obviously can't use a P55. I worried about the graphics card, but it seems like it's got some support now. I'd like to keep the upgrade costs as low as possible.

What can you recommend for a straightforward install? I don't need to OC or dual boot or anything like that.

Many thanks in advance for your suggestions.

i

You can't install 10.4 using this method. Go buy yourself a Snow Leopard "Upgrade" DVD (10.6) for 30 bucks, which is actually a complete install DVD.

Your graphics card should work right away when you're using iBoot/MultiBeast.

Boards that should work are:
  • Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3, P45
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3LR, P45
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3P, P45

I'm not sure whether you'll need an edited DSDT or not. Wait 'til someone more knowledgable drops by...

Thanks for those boards. I meant to say 10.6.4 but it was a long day :) . I corrected the original.

I have SL on a USB, made with the retail dvd. When I tried the iBoot method on my IP35, it saw the stick, so I think that will work. It's no problem to get the dvd, either.

Thanks again,

i

Nice thinking, inthedistance, I was actually going to recommend the USB boot method!

Did you follow tonymac's guide, or was it another one?