No Audio Devices - Realtek ALC AppleHDA [Guide]

Discussion in 'Audio' started by toleda, Oct 17, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,671
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 9:39 PM #3251
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,671
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ready for 10.13 since Public Beta
    Self inflicted: remove Rouge Amoeba/Instant On. Not ready for 10.1, kills coreaudiod
    Audio was installed correctly.
     
  2. blindowl

    blindowl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 @ 3.70 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 10:46 PM #3252
    blindowl

    blindowl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 @ 3.70 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thank you!! It was that stupid Instant On plug-in blocking. I wasn't even aware It was still installed.
     
  3. UtterDisbelief

    UtterDisbelief

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    878
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K3
    CPU:
    i3-7320 4.1ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX 560 2GB GDDR5
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 10:51 PM #3253
    UtterDisbelief

    UtterDisbelief

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    878
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K3
    CPU:
    i3-7320 4.1ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX 560 2GB GDDR5
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Deleted - you've just sorted it as I wrote!
    :)
     
  4. Jinjaninja1

    Jinjaninja1

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 3
    CPU:
    intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Asus GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 1, 2017 at 2:24 AM #3254
    Jinjaninja1

    Jinjaninja1

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 3
    CPU:
    intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Asus GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac
    hey guys at the request of @toleda I'm posting here. My original post is right here. Basically, I have successfully installed High Sierra and now on APFS. But as always no audio. I have a msi gaming 3 mobo. So I believe I should be using ALC audio (not sure which one: 1150,898...)

    Now I have tried following many tutorials and even installed VoodoHDA. No luck.

    Could someone direct me in the right direction? I would like to uninstall all old drivers and install the correct one easily. I do not want to do a clean install again as it was a very lengthy process to get my system up. Took 1.5 days.

    Please help!
     
  5. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,671
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 1, 2017 at 2:29 AM #3255
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,671
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ignored previous instruction to post here. To repeat, see Post #1/Problem Reporting; attach all requested files.
     
  6. Jinjaninja1

    Jinjaninja1

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 3
    CPU:
    intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Asus GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 1, 2017 at 2:36 AM #3256
    Jinjaninja1

    Jinjaninja1

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 3
    CPU:
    intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Asus GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac
    @toleda I did not ignore your instructions. I'm not sure where to go from here. I checked your link. What do I do? Step by step? I'm so confused right now. Attached current config. I think I have VoodoHDA installed.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2017-10-01 at 7.14.21 AM.png  (209 KB, 18 views)
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2017
  7. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,671
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 1, 2017 at 4:27 AM #3257
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,671
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Step by step:
    1. Go to Post #1
    2. Go to topic called Problem Reporting
    3. Do steps 1 - 9 and 11.
    4. Post to this thread with all requested files attached.

    Only you can fix your audio, do each step.
     
  8. Jinjaninja1

    Jinjaninja1

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 3
    CPU:
    intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Asus GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 1, 2017 at 4:43 AM #3258
    Jinjaninja1

    Jinjaninja1

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 3
    CPU:
    intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Asus GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac
    hey @toldea thanks.

    This is what I did so far. I uninstalled VoodooHDA by drag/dropping the .kext file from S/L/E.

    Then from your guide, I downloaded AppleALC.kext and mounted EFI > KEXT > Other (screenshot attached)

    Then I tried to run command downloaded from your guide (audio_codecdetect_v2.3.command). Then it gave me the no permissions error (attached) I have changed permissions to admin, user, others to "Read & Write" but still gives me that error when I double click.

    Please help!!!!

    Screen Shot 2017-10-01 at 9.07.58 AM.png Screen Shot 2017-10-01 at 9.09.27 AM.png
     
  9. blindowl

    blindowl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 @ 3.70 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 1, 2017 at 1:06 PM #3259
    blindowl

    blindowl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-6100 @ 3.70 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac, Performa
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Open Terminal and run "chmod +x" on the audio_codecdetect_v2.3.command. I think that corrected the permissions when I had the same issue.
     
  10. Jinjaninja1

    Jinjaninja1

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 3
    CPU:
    intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Asus GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 1, 2017 at 2:13 PM #3260
    Jinjaninja1

    Jinjaninja1

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 3
    CPU:
    intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Asus GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac
    Thanks I tried that. but it says wrong path or something like that. I gave up already. Using VoodooHDA for the time being. Do you think @tonymacx86 and team will release a version of Multibeast for APFS? It would make life so much easier.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page