Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hello, I am looking into converting a g4 lampshade into a 10.7 machine with either an i5 or i7. I am new to the whole apple scene since i am more of a windows person. I was wondering whether any of you would know of a small enough motherboard (ecx size or maybe even a micro itx board) that will have a socket for an intel and be able to fit inside of the lampshades base. (that is a bit cheaper than the KEEX-6100 from a previous mod i saw)

ALSO, does anyone know where i can get a converter to convert the lampshades video input to dvi or hdmi? I included a picture of the connector

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/829/photolmr.jpg/

I don't think your going to get any suggestions for another mobo. As no one has really taken the plunge and bought one hoping it will work. I think it would be best just to buy the keex.

As for the connector. I have no idea. Obviously you've seen the other mod where the cable was dismantled. But you could probably buy a female of that connector and then a male DVI and just do it that way.

DonutHands said:
is there a good reason you want to be stuck with the poor quality monitor on the imac?
Well, I basically want to keep the unique look and feel the same to the computer. You don't really see computers these days that are like this. Other AIO computers are totally different. I don't care about screen quality, as I will not be using this for video editing, gaming, etc.

DonutHands said:
is there a good reason you want to be stuck with the poor quality monitor on the imac?
nickk513 said:
Well, I basically want to keep the unique look and feel the same to the computer. You don't really see computers these days that are like this. Other AIO computers are totally different. I don't care about screen quality, as I will not be using this for video editing, gaming, etc.