Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99-Designare EX
CPU
i7-6950X
Graphics
GTX 750 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I hope I am posting this in the correct place...
I am a Mac Pro user and looking to build a Hackintosh when Gigabyte comes out with a motherboard that has the LGA 2011 socket with thunderbolt ports.
Question is I already have hard drives loaded with all my software and OS 10.7. Will I have to start from scratch when I build the Hackintosh and reinstall all of my software again?
thanks
michaiel

I am a Mac Pro user and looking to build a Hackintosh when Gigabyte comes out with a motherboard that has the LGA 2011 socket with thunderbolt ports.
Question is I already have hard drives loaded with all my software and OS 10.7. Will I have to start from scratch when I build the Hackintosh and reinstall all of my software again?
thanks
michaiel

I would not hold my breath waiting for an x79 motherboard with thunderbolt. Intel seems to want implementation to be tied to the processor graphics and apparently that is one reason Intel has rejected the add-on cards for thunderbolt. So given that the 2011 chips lack the built in graphics necessary and AFAIK there are no plans for a 2011 chip with the built in graphics, I'm not seeing it happening any time soon.

Wouldn't mind being proved wrong though. I have heard that Apple may announce a big update to the Mac Pros towards the end of the year, which presumably would support Thunderbolt, but there's also a strong possibility that this is just simply fanboy wishful thinking.