Contribute
Register

[Guide] Install High Sierra on the HP 6300 Pro / 8300 Elite Desktop PC

Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
536
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 710
Mobile Phone
Android
a similar card under Mac Os with the same kind of method/connector? and you only got wifi?
The original card was a BCM943228HMB also known as BRCM1058 and had wifi and bluetooth and I couldnt get either to work. I bought a New card, an AR5BHB92 AR9280 - which is wifi only and works well enough to get 70Mbps throughput
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
6
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thank you for your answer.
Regards some posts in the mentionned guide people got fully working support under Mac Os by following Toleda's guide.
I will try this i think.
Hp 8300 USDT I7 3770s delided, 8 or 16 gb or RAM, an SSD and this wifi bluetooth card makes a terrible mac mini killer from my point of view if all works.
What's your opinion?
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
536
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 710
Mobile Phone
Android
Unless you particularly need bluetooth or have a wired internet connection for the machine- I'd buy one of AR5BHB92 AR9280 for £5 as well and start with that. It's not that the wifi/bluetooth ones havnt worked but when I read thru some of the posts there seemed to be instability in connection especially in High Sierra and Mojave, I'd be in interested in any links you have where somebody has BCM943228HMB also known as BRCM1058 working on mojave (coz ive got 1 of those!). If you go for 8Gb think about getting one stick of ram (the speed difference is hard to notice) and you can choose to update later. These machines seem to run quite cool especially as Macs (and you cant overclock them) so maybe leave the delidding to the end. They are lovely machines and quite a bit of work has made it very easy to turn them into fully functioning macs.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 29, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP Compaq Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
MacBook Pro
How to Activate ALC221 Audio and your Front Microphone Jack
In post #2 of this thread, I posted a guide to patch your DSDT for working ALC221 audio. That patch doesn't enable the front combo Mic/Headphone jack. If you absolutely need that Mic input to work, you can now use an SSDT and the Codec Commander kext + a minor config.plist edit to get a working Mic jack . If you don't use that front mic jack, simply continue to use your previously patched DSDT for working ALC221 audio. Credit for the ALC221 SSDT.aml goes to: Sniki

0. Remove the VoodooHDA and AppleHDA Disabler kexts if you had installed those previously.

  1. Remove your patched DSDT from Clover/ACPI/patched and put it in a folder to keep as a backup option.
  2. Back up your current working Clover config.plist. You could put it in the same folder as your patched DSDT.
(this is done in case your edits don't work or the new config.plist gets corrupted some how.)

3. Open your system drive's Clover config.plist with a plist editor and make the following change of the Audio Layout ID from 11 to 0. (The DSDT patching guide suggested the change to 11. Yours may already be set to 0)

View attachment 377940

4. Edit your system drive's Clover config.plist with the following entry in the Devices section. It should be entered just after the Inject Audio Layout ID section shown above. (Use a plist editor like PlistEdit Pro or BBedit to make the edit. Do not use the Mac text edit app)

Code:
<key>Properties</key>
<dict>
      <key>PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x1b,0)</key>
      <dict>
          <key>#Comment</key>
          <string>Realtek ALC221 Audio Configuration</string>
          <key>hda-gfx</key>
          <string>onboard-1</string>
          <key>layout-id</key>
          <integer>11</integer>
      </dict>
</dict>
Here's how it should look when you've finished the edit:
View attachment 377890

This screenshot is from the Devices/Properties section in Clover Configurator

View attachment 387389

  1. Download the two attached files, RehabMan-Codec Commander kext and the SSDT for ALC221
  2. Install Codec Commander to /L/E/ with Kextbeast
  3. Drag and drop the SSDT-ALC221.aml into your Clover/ACPI/patched folder
  4. Make sure you've got the latest versions of Lilu and AppleALC kexts installed to /L/E
  5. Reboot and test out your front combo mic/headphone jack
This is not working for me at all. Boot is extremely slow, and stops when the bar beneath is the apple logo is full. This happens after I install the lilu and applealc kexts in the S/E/ folder. I had to delete them through the terminal to get it working again. Any help to get the sound working would be appreciated.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
13,462
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Boot is extremely slow, and stops when the bar beneath is the apple logo is full. This happens after I install the lilu and applealc kexts in the S/E/ folder
That's not where to install those kexts. They go in /L/E or Library/Extensions not S/L/E
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP Compaq Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
MacBook Pro
That's not where to install those kexts. They go in /L/E or Library/Extensions not S/L/E
Sorry, I meant L/E, not S/E. I've tried it in the L/E folder twice now, same error. Slow boot, full apple loading bar, and then nothing. Had to delete them through the terminal. It's definitely either the Lilu or Applealc kext causing it.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
13,462
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Sorry, I meant L/E, not S/E. I've tried it in the L/E folder twice now, same error. Slow boot, full apple loading bar, and then nothing. Had to delete them through the terminal. It's definitely either the Lilu or Applealc kext causing it.
Run this script after you press F2 and F4 at the CLover boot menu screen.
Attach the results here as a zip file.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
13,462
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Sorry, I meant L/E, not S/E. I've tried it in the L/E folder twice now, same error. Slow boot, full apple loading bar, and then nothing. Had to delete them through the terminal. It's definitely either the Lilu or Applealc kext causing it.
Why is your profile not filled out ? Take care of that first. Needs CPU, Graphics and your HP no. and form factor.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
13,462
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Affordable Multi 4K Monitor Graphics Card for your HP Mini-Tower
These are selling for $69 dollars right now on Ebay. Note that if you have an SFF HP desktop there is no LP bracket included. These are Kepler based and should work well with the latest macOS Mojave. No drivers to install.
This is the only way I know of to get multiple 4K monitors working at 60Hz. You can have up to four but I'd guess that would be pushing this card to it's limits. Dual 4K monitors connected to your HP MT would be perfect. Three of them would work too. There are many good 4K monitors now that sell for under 300 USD. Try Amazon and Newegg.
Don't expect to game at 4K with one of these cards. They are not designed for that. Photo editing or CAD works fine. Remember the 2013 Mac Pro ? The AMD FirePro cards from 2013 were absolutely terrible for gaming, even if you ran Windows via bootcamp.
Amazon Basics has a miniDP to DP cable that only costs 8 USD if you have multiple 4K monitors (not TVs) So to connect four 4K@60Hz monitors will only cost 32 dollars. Not bad.
 
Last edited:
Top