Contribute
Register

GA-Z170M-D3H First Build Partial Success

Status
Not open for further replies.
Let me preface this all by saying I am a complete noob in the whole computer build/troubleshoot arena. Please excuse any terms I may use inappropriately! I went out, bought a whole bunch of parts (Black Friday sales), put the system together earlier this week, and then went through troubleshooting the system the past few days.

I took the November 2016 Buy's Guide for CustoMac mATX build.
Gigabyte GA-Z170M-D3H
Intel i7-6700K
Corsair H60 Processor Cooler
EVGA 960 SC Graphics Card
Crucial Ballistic Sport LT 2x8GB Memory
Samsung 850 EVO 250gb (install drive for El Capitan)
Samsung 850 EVO 500gb for storage
Samsung 850 EVO 250gb (for a later windows install)
Corsair CS 550 PSU
BitFenix Phenom M (white) Case
TP kink PCI express N900 WiFi adapter
GMYLE Bluetooth Adapter
Sabrent USB Stereo Adapter (separate purchase post build)​

Build: the case is a tight case, but I removed all brackets before starting and went well. Maybe the hardest things on the install were the water cooler and the side panel to motherboard connections. Best feeling was hitting the power switch and all went on.

OS install: because my MacBook Pro is too old to download Sierra, I went with El Capitan. I followed the instructions on the site, made my USB (BTW, it does take some time to create that boot USB, need patience). The Clover install process and MultiBeast install was really painless.

Issues encountered:
Graphics card......I downloaded the latest Nvidia web drivers, installed and thought all was good to go, no way. I was getting the flickering screen at start up. Did more and more reading up, saw i needed to insert nv_drv=1 using Clover Configurator (yes, its a separate program I learned, not the Clover Boot Screen when system first powers up), and I was able to insert that and problem solved.