Contribute
Register

Freezes when using iMovie and Aperture // GT 9600 (SOLVED!)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi all, I'm a beginner at all this so excuse me for posting potentially stupid questions...

Just got my system up and running:

Gigabyte P55-USB3 (Bios F3)
Core i7
8 GB RAM
Nvidia GT9600 1 GB

It works ok, but the whole computer freezes in certain situations using certain programs, for example iMovie and Aperture. But it also freezes sometimes using other programs, but way more seldom. The mouse freezes and there's nothing I can do...

That made me think it's a problem with the graphics card (and posted in this section).

I used another installer first (and hoped that was the problem), but today I did a clean install with iBoot/Multibeast - and still has the same problem...

My friend has almost the same computer. But a GT9800 instead. I also checked his bios and it's F4 (while mine is F3) - same motherboard. His bios might also be tweaked differently.

Anyone have any ideas what it might be? Should I buy a GT9800 instead? Is it the bios? (How do you even update the bios...is it possible?)

Thanks in advance,

Re: Freezes when using iMovie and Aperture // Nvidia GT9600 1GB

Jollo said:
Hi all, I'm a beginner at all this so excuse me for posting potentially stupid questions...

Just got my system up and running:

Gigabyte P55-USB3 (Bios F3)
Core i7
8 GB RAM
Nvidia GT9600 1 GB

It works ok, but the whole computer freezes in certain situations using certain programs, for example iMovie and Aperture. But it also freezes sometimes using other programs, but way more seldom. The mouse freezes and there's nothing I can do...

That made me think it's a problem with the graphics card (and posted in this section).

I used another installer first (and hoped that was the problem), but today I did a clean install with iBoot/Multibeast - and still has the same problem...