Contribute
Register

Driver mess -> Kernel panic -> Delete driver software?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Mountain Lion / Win7
CPU
i7 @ 3.8GHz
Graphics
Radeon HD 6XXX
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hello buddies,

To start off, my build is this one, it's a Golden Build - with OS X 10.8.2.

Long story:

I've been running Win 7 & OS X Dual Boot fine since I got it (+1,5 yrs ago). I bought a new headset-mouse combo recently, more specifically the Siberia Elite and Sensei from SteelSeries. These require two separate SteelSeries drivers, they call them the "Engine" and "Engine 3", which of the latter is of course the newest version.

The combination of these two drivers made my Win 7 not able to shut down (the mouse was still getting power), but I got used to forcing the shutdown so I didn't see it as a problem at all anymore. At this point I thought it was a problem with my Win installation/config as I couldn't find anyone with the same problem online. Neither did SS Consumer service confirm it as a known bug but they told they were going to fix it by making all of their devices to work with the newest (engine 3) driver software.

Of course I wanted to use my new devices with OS X as well and I installed the drivers on my Mac partition ignoring the fact that they had already caused problems with Windows. They both installed successfully, and both devices started working right away, but the second installation required me to reboot. Then at boot I got the kernel panic screen.