Contribute
Register

Couple of questions before I dive into this.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
My build:

GIGABYTE GA-P55M-UD2
XFX HD-577A-ZNFC Radeon HD 5770
4GB ram (Gskill DDR3)
Intel Core I5-750
Some random SATA samsung DVD burner

I'm looking to get a laptop soon and kinda want a Macbook. Seeing how I have no experience with OS X however, (last time I used a Mac was an Apple ][ back in grade school) I've decided to try and install OS X on my PC and see how I like it. I've just got a couple questions before I try this:

1. From what I can tell my hardware config should work but I'm wondering if I can get video and audio out from the HDMI port on my video card? I could switch it to DVI if I needed as I just use headphones for audio 90% of the time anyway, but I'd like to leave it hooked up though HDMI if possible.

2. I can have my Windows 7 and OS X installs on separate harddrives and dual boot between them fine, correct? It's my understanding that this isn't a problem, I just wanted to double check.

3. This question is kinda silly, but I'm still using a Model M keyboard (this one is so old it doesn't even have a windows key) and was wondering if this would cause any weird issues or should I go ahead and buy a decent USB keyboard?

Anyway, thanks for all the help everyone.

katka said:
My build:

GIGABYTE GA-P55M-UD2
XFX HD-577A-ZNFC Radeon HD 5770
4GB ram (Gskill DDR3)
Intel Core I5-750
Some random SATA samsung DVD burner

I'm looking to get a laptop soon and kinda want a Macbook. Seeing how I have no experience with OS X however, (last time I used a Mac was an Apple ][ back in grade school) I've decided to try and install OS X on my PC and see how I like it. I've just got a couple questions before I try this: