Contribute
Register

Announcement: AMD Ryzen Based Systems and tonymacx86

Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
202
Motherboard
GigaByte Z390 AORUS Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Plus
  2. Power Mac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are there any updates regarding being able to use Zen3 CPU's on Ryzentosh?
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,134
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Are there any updates regarding being able to use Zen3 CPU's on Ryzentosh?
There was an engineering sample that posted a geekbench score. So they t seems to work unless it was a fake. It was an open core as it had the Acidanthera bios label.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
66
Motherboard
AORUS Z390 Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
What are the disadvantages of a Ryzentosh?
Maybe I am interested in building an AMD system.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
Lenovo M93P Tiny
CPU
i5-4785T / Q87
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
What are the disadvantages of a Ryzentosh?
Maybe I am interested in building an AMD system.
Any application that use VT-D wont work. VT-D is Intel proprietary.
Docker (GUI) for start.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
659
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Any application that use VT-D wont work. VT-D is Intel proprietary.
Docker (GUI) for start.
Most of the guides say to disable virtualisation anyway and AMD also supports virtualisation, so is that really an issue?

The main problem with building an AMD hack is that most Adobe programs still have problems or won't run at all. There are additional fixes/patches to get over this but the latest Photoshop, for instance, still won't run. Camera stabilisation in After Effects is also hit and miss at the moment but Adobe seems to be slowly removing the Intel specific code from the macOS versions of their products.

So if you are not reliant on Adobe products you will probably be ok with a Ryzen hack.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
659
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
66
Motherboard
AORUS Z390 Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Any application that use VT-D wont work. VT-D is Intel proprietary.
Docker (GUI) for start.
Does macOS support Vt-d?
AMD has AMD-Vi, why should that not work, if Vt-d does?
If I could pass through the Radeon to the Windows VM, that would be great. No need to dual boot then.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
66
Motherboard
AORUS Z390 Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
The main problem with building an AMD hack is that most Adobe programs still have problems or won't run at all. There are additional fixes/patches to get over this but the latest Photoshop, for instance, still won't run. Camera stabilisation in After Effects is also hit and miss at the moment but Adobe seems to be slowly removing the Intel specific code from the macOS versions of their products.

So if you are not reliant on Adobe products you will probably be ok with a Ryzen hack.
Thanks for the information. I am not using Adobe software.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
659
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The latest Adobe patches now allows Photoshop 2021 etc to run. The only issues I have seen are Liquify and Neural Filters don't work - which is no big issue for me as I don't use those.

Anyone running Topaz apps, e.g Denoie AI, Sharpen AI etc, the Adobe patches work for those apps as well. Just change the path from Adobe* to Topaz*.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
Lenovo M93P Tiny
CPU
i5-4785T / Q87
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Most of the guides say to disable virtualisation anyway and AMD also supports virtualisation, so is that really an issue?

The main problem with building an AMD hack is that most Adobe programs still have problems or won't run at all. There are additional fixes/patches to get over this but the latest Photoshop, for instance, still won't run. Camera stabilisation in After Effects is also hit and miss at the moment but Adobe seems to be slowly removing the Intel specific code from the macOS versions of their products.

So if you are not reliant on Adobe products you will probably be ok with a Ryzen hack.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 08.48.00.png
    Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 08.48.00.png
    246.5 KB · Views: 74
Top