Memory performance and bandwidth low in geekbench..

Discussion in 'General Help' started by MrEddy, Nov 3, 2012.

  1. MrEddy

    MrEddy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI 2GB GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2012 #1
    MrEddy

    MrEddy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI 2GB GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    [Solved] Memory performance and bandwidth low in geekbench..

    Hi,

    First I have to thank all the person working on this board and the website, making hackintosh so easy to do. It saved me a lot of money by the way !

    I have done my first hack tonight, here is my setup :
    Intel i7-3770K
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5h
    Corsair Vengeance CL10 2x8Go
    PSU Corsair TX650M
    Crucial M4 256Go SSD 2,5" (missing some mounting kit to fix it inside the 3,5" rack.. I forgot to think about this !:mrgreen:)
    Seagate Barracuda ST2000DM001
    Corsair Graphite 600T

    This is it. The graphic card will come later, a mid range, just to leave the CPU free to work on what I'll ask him to do.

    Everything works correctly, even a noname bluetooth dongle (for my apple trackpad). Autosleep is not putting the computer in real sleep mode, but this isn't a problem since I usually do it by myself when I leave my desk.

    The only point I'm a little surprised is about the results I get with geekbench.

    Screen Shot 2012-11-03 at 2.48.22 AM.jpg

    The memory stuff are getting low scores compared to some builds I've seen here which are more around 8000-9000 points. I've updated the BIOS of my motherboard to F14 by the way.

    Is this a relevant difference ? Should I install something else in Multibeast ?

    For example, cameron1515 got this results with same mobo, cpu and less RAM :
    [​IMG=full]

    Even the global geekbench results is a little higher on his configuration.

    Thanks for your advices :)

    Eddy

    PS : I've done my test just after a reboot, is this was important.

    PPS : And here is the results of my MacMini which have 16Go of RAM, but at 1333MHz. And as you can see, it has similar to better results.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2012-11-03 at 3.38.10 AM.jpg  (142.1 KB, 201 views)
  2. verdazil

    verdazil

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    Nov 3, 2012 #2
    verdazil

    verdazil

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    I suspect that you have a problem with CPU cooling. Overheating dramatically reduces the CPU performance. During the test CPU must run at maximum set frequency, check it.
    I have the same problem (see my Geeckbench score) and will buy more efficient cooler.
     
  3. MrEddy

    MrEddy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI 2GB GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2012 #3
    MrEddy

    MrEddy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI 2GB GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    In my case, CPU cooling doesn't seem to be a problem. I am using a Corsair H60 water-cooling and the heat of my CPU, according to iStat widget, is at 25°C at the moment for example. Do you have higher temps with your CPU ?
    While running geekbench, I kept Activity monitor window open to check CPU activity, it is running pretty high (between 70 and 98% of activity) and it is getting the 8 threads to work.

    I have checked Geekbench browser and even people with slower RAM (for example 1333MHz) and i7-3770K have higher memory performance and memory bandwith performance (at least around 7500)

    So I'm pretty sure it has something to do with my RAM settings...
     
  4. MrEddy

    MrEddy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI 2GB GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2012 #4
    MrEddy

    MrEddy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI 2GB GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The Sandy bridge i7 in Multibeast ? Can it be undone if it's not improving ?
    This may affect my memory performance too ?
    Sorry for all this questions, but I don't want to do something wrong and get all my install to do from zero :mrgreen:
     
  5. MrEddy

    MrEddy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI 2GB GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2012 #5
    MrEddy

    MrEddy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI 2GB GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks I'll try it and see what I get.

    If anyone has experienced similar results with Corsair Vengeance 1600 MHz CL10, let me know :)
     
  6. Bimmer325Ci

    Bimmer325Ci

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    398
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH F11
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 / Corsair 32GB DDR3 1600C10
    Graphics:
    NVidia GeForce GTX 660Ti 2GB x2 SLI / Apple LED Cinema Display 24"
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2012 #6
    Bimmer325Ci

    Bimmer325Ci

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    398
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH F11
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 / Corsair 32GB DDR3 1600C10
    Graphics:
    NVidia GeForce GTX 660Ti 2GB x2 SLI / Apple LED Cinema Display 24"
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Here is my result with the same memory, I'm using MacPro3,1 SMBios.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2012-11-03 at 10.36.31 AM.png  (153.3 KB, 414 views)
  7. MrEddy

    MrEddy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI 2GB GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2012 #7
    MrEddy

    MrEddy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI 2GB GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for the info.
    Could you tell me how you have set your bios for the RAM ? It's the only thing I can think off that would have an effect on my memory.
     
  8. Bimmer325Ci

    Bimmer325Ci

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    398
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH F11
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 / Corsair 32GB DDR3 1600C10
    Graphics:
    NVidia GeForce GTX 660Ti 2GB x2 SLI / Apple LED Cinema Display 24"
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2012 #8
    Bimmer325Ci

    Bimmer325Ci

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    398
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH F11
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 / Corsair 32GB DDR3 1600C10
    Graphics:
    NVidia GeForce GTX 660Ti 2GB x2 SLI / Apple LED Cinema Display 24"
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I didn't do anything special, just loaded optimal default in BIOS. We are using different motherboards, other then that, I'm not sure what the issue might be. Maybe you got a bad batch/under performing set.
     
  9. MrEddy

    MrEddy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI 2GB GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2012 #9
    MrEddy

    MrEddy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI 2GB GTX 660 Twin Frozr III
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Our motherboards are very similar even if different. Would need other RAM to compare. Will try to borrow a pack of 2x8Go to compare.
    Thanks for your help !
     
  10. Bimmer325Ci

    Bimmer325Ci

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    398
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH F11
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 / Corsair 32GB DDR3 1600C10
    Graphics:
    NVidia GeForce GTX 660Ti 2GB x2 SLI / Apple LED Cinema Display 24"
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2012 #10
    Bimmer325Ci

    Bimmer325Ci

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    398
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH F11
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1240 V2 / Corsair 32GB DDR3 1600C10
    Graphics:
    NVidia GeForce GTX 660Ti 2GB x2 SLI / Apple LED Cinema Display 24"
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I decided to play with my RAM settings, I enable E.X.P to Profile 1, my Geekbench scores went up. I agree, try a different pack.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2012-11-03 at 11.44.23 AM.png  (156.1 KB, 352 views)

Share This Page