Hacintosh compatibility with Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP4-TH ?

Discussion in 'Buying Advice' started by TecReady, Nov 3, 2012.

  1. TecReady

    TecReady

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H-WB
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 560 Ti 1.2GB Classified Ultra
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    Nov 3, 2012 #1
    TecReady

    TecReady

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H-WB
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 560 Ti 1.2GB Classified Ultra
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    Hello folks,
    I am a newbie,
    I am trying to buy a motherboard, Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP4-TH.
    I did not see this motherboard listed in "Compatible motherboards" section.
    I can see Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH in the list. So just wondering if UP4-TH will work or not.
    Thanks in advance for the reply guys.
     
  2. bthall

    bthall

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    427
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 3, 2012 #2
    bthall

    bthall

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    427
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The UP4 was taken off the compatibility list because several folks had problems with it. I built a customac with the UP5 and it's been working great (USB3.0, audio, sleep, etc.) and was very easy to get set up.

    -bth
     
  3. Kongzilla

    Kongzilla

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP4 TH
    CPU:
    i7 -3770K
    Graphics:
    HD4000, GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 3, 2012 #3
    Kongzilla

    Kongzilla

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP4 TH
    CPU:
    i7 -3770K
    Graphics:
    HD4000, GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I am using the GA-Z77X-UP4-TH on the latest bios with no problems, everything works great.
     
  4. TecReady

    TecReady

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H-WB
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 560 Ti 1.2GB Classified Ultra
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    Nov 5, 2012 #4
    TecReady

    TecReady

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H-WB
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 560 Ti 1.2GB Classified Ultra
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    Thank you bthall.
     
  5. TecReady

    TecReady

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H-WB
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 560 Ti 1.2GB Classified Ultra
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    Nov 5, 2012 #5
    TecReady

    TecReady

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H-WB
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 560 Ti 1.2GB Classified Ultra
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    @ Kongzilla , I had seen the other reply saying that other people had problems with this motherboard,
    If you dont mind, could you please give me your complete system config for the mother board to work ?
    Appreciate your help.
     
  6. miv79

    miv79

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH, 16GB RAM
    CPU:
    i7 3770K (4.2Ghz OC at the moment)
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 660Ti Twin Frozr - Power Edition
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 5, 2012 #6
    miv79

    miv79

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH, 16GB RAM
    CPU:
    i7 3770K (4.2Ghz OC at the moment)
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 660Ti Twin Frozr - Power Edition
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I think the problem with the UP4 (as far as Hackintoshes are concerned) was due to issues with a number of the USB ports. Several of the ports were reported as not working under OSX.

    Now bear in mind this was when the board was first released a few months back, could well be some of the issues have since been resolved.
     
  7. Kongzilla

    Kongzilla

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP4 TH
    CPU:
    i7 -3770K
    Graphics:
    HD4000, GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 6, 2012 #7
    Kongzilla

    Kongzilla

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP4 TH
    CPU:
    i7 -3770K
    Graphics:
    HD4000, GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    No problem, here is a screenshot my my multibeast settings. miv79 is right at first there was usb issues but with the 10.8.2 update those issues are gone and you can plug usb 2 device into the usb 3 ports and they work fine. If you have any more questions let me know.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2012-11-06 at 6.06.37 AM.jpg  (193.1 KB, 3,085 views)
  8. TecReady

    TecReady

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H-WB
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 560 Ti 1.2GB Classified Ultra
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    Nov 6, 2012 #8
    TecReady

    TecReady

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H-WB
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA 560 Ti 1.2GB Classified Ultra
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    Appreciate your reply. Thank You.
     
  9. psgrafix

    psgrafix

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    Yosemite on GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 760 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    512K, Classic, eMac, iMac, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 9, 2012 #9
    psgrafix

    psgrafix

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    Yosemite on GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 760 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    512K, Classic, eMac, iMac, Performa, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Kongzilla, et al,

    I'm encouraged to hear that you are using the Z77X-UP4-TH with success. Wish I had some.

    I installed 10.8.2 ML on my Z77X-UP4-TH with Intel 3770K and applied your settings in MultiBeast 5.2. After restart and boot to SSD startup hangs a few seconds after the grey Apple screen. The wheel gets about 10 revolutions then freezes. Same in Safe Mode. The drive shows up as a boot option but won't go. I can reboot with the UniBeast USB but not to the SSD I installed the system onto.

    No PCI cards, running internal graphics until I get the rest ironed out.

    Suggestions, please.

    So far: Z77X-UP4-TH, Intel i7 3770k, Antec Nine Hundred Two V3 case, SanDisk SDSSDP-128G, G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB RAM, CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo cooler, SeaSonic M12II 620W psu

    Still in boxes to add after basic function achieved: MSI GeForce GTX 650 Ti, TP-LINK TL-WDN4800 Wireless, SYBA SD-PEX30009 1394B/A Firewire Card, WD Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 3.5" drive
     
  10. Kongzilla

    Kongzilla

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP4 TH
    CPU:
    i7 -3770K
    Graphics:
    HD4000, GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 9, 2012 #10
    Kongzilla

    Kongzilla

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP4 TH
    CPU:
    i7 -3770K
    Graphics:
    HD4000, GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    It sounds like you dont have UserDDT Free and/or Bootloader checked , do you?
     

Share This Page