Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
This is my first build ever of any type of computer. I bought all new parts for it and I cannot get the hardware to even turn on. I stripped it down to just the power supply, CPU, Motherboard, graphics card, and RAM. When I try to turn it on, it comes on for about a second, turns off, then repeats the cycle continuously until I unplug the power source. I have tried troubleshooting with a different video card and a different power supply, but the results have changed very little.

I already had the Motherboard replaced because I thought the first one was defective, but the results were still the same with the replacement.

Any suggestions?

CPU - Intel i7
Motherboard - GIGABYTE GA-H55M-UD2H LGA 1156 Intel H55 HDMI Micro ATX Intel
Video Card - EVGA 512-P3-1240-RX GeForce GT 240 512MB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card
Power Supply - 500W came with the case I purchased

Is your ram properly installed? When installing ram you have to put a fair amount of pressure until it clicks into place - and the clips close back onto the top of the chip.

Ram is daisy-chained, so if even one DIMM (piece of ram) isn't seated properly the computer will continuously power cycle like that.

Check your ram and report back

might seem a silly question, but which i7 did you buy?
didnt buy an 1155 i7 by accident did you?

samisnake said:
might seem a silly question, but which i7 did you buy?
didnt buy an 1155 i7 by accident did you?

It don't think 1155 cpu would fit on a 1156 mobo. the pins are aligned differently.

i didnt mean the pins would align, i mean its an easy (for some, maybe?) mistake to order an 1155 cpu with an 1156 board.
i thought it might have been that he had fit the cpu into the wrong board, but turns out the notches are slightly higher on 1155 cpus

Double checked the RAM - clips were snapped on, so I don't think that's the problem.