Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi All,

I'm new to installing OS X on generic hardware, so I apologize if this is a stupid problem.

I built a machine based on the CustomMac Pro build and I'm trying to follow the guide here.

I've installed and run Win 7 on the machine so I'm relatively certain it is solid and stable.

I boot fine with iBoot and then put my retail 10.6.3 DVD in. The issue that I'm hitting is that I get a kernel panic before I see any real install UI.

The panic is at "pmap_steal_memory"@[...]/osfmk/vm/vm_resident.c:744. I can copy more of the stack if it is relevant, but it looks like it is part of the kernel bootstrap.

I've changed the SATA mode to ACHI and disabled/unplugged everything I could think of. The on thing I haven't been able to do is remove most of the RAM as I couldn't get the machine to boot with just one stick in.

Details of my machine:
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R rev 2 BIOS ver FB
Intel Core i7-950
MSI R5770 Hawk Radeon
6x4GB Mushkin Silverline RAM
Sony Optiarc CD/DVD Burner
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD

Any advice is greatly appreciated. If I can get this working I certainly intend to contribute.

Bump!

Does anyone have a clue here?

Is the > 4GB likely the problem or has someone installed with lots of ram on this motherboard?

Bring it down to less than 4gb of ram. I had to do that on mine in order to install.

jbeda said:
Bump!

Does anyone have a clue here?

Is the > 4GB likely the problem or has someone installed with lots of ram on this motherboard?
Since iBoot limits you to 4Gb of ram it shouldn't make a difference. I installed with iBoot+MultiBeast with 12Gb ram installed.

Make sure you have downloaded the latest iBoot and MB to get support for your 5770.
You might have to use -x to install until you can get updated to 10.6.5 and get the chameleon with ATI support installed.