Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> iMessage troubles on XPS 15 9570 | Mojave 10.14(.0)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
(XPS 15 9570 mobo)
CPU
i7 8750H @Stock Clock
Graphics
Intel UHD 630 | GeForce GTX 1050 Ti Max-Q
--- Hardware Setup ---
Laptop Model: Dell XPS 15 9570 (4k Touch Version)
CPU: i7 8750H (Stock Clock)
RAM: 16GB DDR4 2400
MOBO: (XPS 15 9570 MOBO)
SSD: hynix 512GB nvme
--------------------------

Hello, I'm having an issue with my new dual boot install on my 9570.

This is my third Hackintosh install (I'm still relatively new to everything) and everything seems to be going great with exception to iMessage and FaceTime on Mojave. My EFI setup was from other successful builds of the 9570 (Lulettersoul and BavarianCake) with little to no changes except adding EmuVariableUefi-64. I'm relying on a TredNET Micro 150 in conjunction with chris111's Clover USB Adapter to have wifi functionality while I wait for the Broadcom chip I ordered to come in the mail (Broadcom BCM94352HMB -- I really can't afford to get the DW1830 / similar and this was cheap and supposedly confirmed working by links that shall not be linked)

Steps I've taken:

* Asked 4-5 redditors about the issue
* I've read and tried this, this, (and many other guides I believe I'm prohibited from linking to)

I've tried redoing each of the steps multiple times for the entirety of today but I can't seem to get iMessage working no matter what I do. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm relying on a TredNET Micro 150 in conjunction with chris111's Clover USB Adapter to have wifi functionality while I wait for the Broadcom chip I ordered to come in the mail (Broadcom BCM94352HMB

@CaramelCanadian,

WiFi Adapter needs to be flagged as "built-in" otherwise iMessage wont wont work.
You can confirm current status using Hackintool :-

Screenshot 2019-11-08 at 15.05.32.png

The usual way to work around the issue is to create a dummy ethernet device using NullEthernet kext.